© GOVERNMENT OF TAMIL NADU 2024 [Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14 [R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



# TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

### EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 218]

CHENNAI, TUESDAY, JULY 2, 2024 Aani 18, Kurothi, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2055

## Part V—Section 4

Notification by the Election Commission of India

#### NOTIFICATION BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

ELECTION COMMISSION'S NOTIFICATION REGARDING EXIT POLL AT THE BYE-ELECTION TO TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FROM 75.VIKRAVANDI ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCY

#### No. SRO G-29/2024.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 27th June, 2024 is published:-

#### No.576/EXIT/2024/SDR/Vol.II:-

Whereas, the schedule for the current bye elections to the 60-Rupauli Assembly Constituency in Bihar, 35-Raiganj, 90-Ranaghat Dakshin (SC), 94-Bagda (SC) & 167- Maniktala Assembly Constituencies in West Bengal, 75-Vikravandi Assembly Constituency in Tamil Nadu, 123-Amarwara (ST) Assembly Constituency in Madhya Pradesh, 04-Badrinath & 33-Manglaur Assembly Constituencies in Uttrakhand, 34-Jalandhar West (SC) Assembly Constituency in Punjab and 10-Dehra, 38-Hamirpur & 51-Nalagarh Assembly Constituencies in Himachal Pradesh, as announced by the Election Commission's *vide* Press Note No. ECI/PN/120/2024 dated 10th June 2024

2. Whereas, Section 126A of The Representation of the People Act, 1951 (in short R.P. Act, 1951) specifics that "(1) No person shall conduct any exit poll and publish or publicise by means of the print or electronic media or disseminate in any other manner, whatsoever, the result of any exit poll during such period. as may be notified by the Election Commission in this regard.

(2) For the purposes of sub-section (1), the Election Commission shall, by a general order, notify the date and time having due regard to the following, namely:-

- (a) in case of a general election, the period may commence from the beginning of the hours fixed for poll on the first day of poll and continue till half an hour after closing of the poll in all the States and Union territories;
- (b) In case of a bye-election or a number of bye-elections held together, the period may commence from the beginning of the hours fixed for poll on and from the first day of poll and continue till half an hour after closing of the poll;

Provided that in case of a number of bye-elections held together on different days the period may commence from the beginning of the hours fixed for poll on the first day of poll and continue till half an hour after closing of the last poll.

(3) Any person who contravenes the provisions of this section shall be punishable with imprisonment for a term which may extend to two years or with fine or with both."

3. Now, therefore, in exercise of the powers under sub-section (1) of Section 126A of the R.P. Act, 1951, the Election Commission, having regard to the provisions of sub-section (2) of the said Section, hereby notifies the period between **7.00 A.M.** and **6.30 P.M.** on **10-07-2024 (Wednesday)**, as the period during which conducting and publishing or publicizing exit poll by means of the print or electronic media or dissemination in any other manner whatsoever, the result of any exit poll in connection with the aforesaid by elections, shall be prohibited.

4. It is further clarified that under Section 126(1)(b) of the R.P. Act, 1951, displaying any election matter including results of any opinion poll or any other poll survey in any electronic media, would be prohibited during the period of 48 hours ending with the hours fixed for the conclusion of the poll in connection with the aforesaid by-elections.

(By Order)

NARENDRA N. BUTOLIA, Senior Principal Secretary, Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 2nd July 2024. SATYABRATA SAHOO, Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.