©
GOVERNMENT OF TAMIL NADU
2024

[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14 [R. Dis. No. 197/2009.

Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 166]

CHENNAI, THURSDAY, MAY 23, 2024 Vaikasi 10, Kurothi, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2055

Part V—Section 4

Notification by the Election Commission of India

NOTIFICATION BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

NOTIFICATION OF ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA REGARDING APPOINTMENT OF ADDITIONAL ASSISTANT RETURNING OFFICERS FOR THE ASSEMBLY CONSTITUTENCY IN THE STATE OF TAMIL NADU

No. SRO G-21/2024.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 20th May, 2024 [30 Vaishakha, 1945 (Saka)] is published:-

No. 434/TN/2021(4):- In exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (1) of section 22 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951), the Election Commission of India, hereby introduces the following amendments to its notification No. 434/TN/2021 (4), dated 11-01-2021 as amended from time to time, in consultation with the State Government of Tamil Nadu, the officer of Government specified in column (2) of the Table below, as the Assistant Returning Officers of the Assembly Constituency in the Tamil Nadu State, as specified in column (1) of the said Table against such officer. The primary responsibility of these Assistant Returning Officers shall be to assist the Returning Officer of the Assembly Constituency in the State of Tamil Nadu in the process of counting of votes in Bye-election from 233-Vilavancode Assembly Constituency to be held on 04-06-2024.

In column (2) of the table appended to the notification No. 434/TN /2021(4), dated 11-01-2021, in respect of the Assembly Constituency shown in column (1) of the said table, after the existing entries the following entries shall be added:

TABLE

| No. and Name of the Assembly Constituency | Assistant Returning Officer | |
|--|-----------------------------|---|
| (1) | (2) | |
| 233.Vilavancode | 3. | Taluk Supply Officer, Vilavancode. |
| | 4. | Special Tahsildar, Railway Land Acquisition, Kuzhithurai. |
| | 5. | Special Tahsildar (SSS), Vilavancode. |

The appointment of above officers as Assistant Returning Officers in their respective constituency will cease to be effective on successful completion of counting of votes in the constituency concerned.

(By Order)

MALAY MALLICK,
Principal Secretary,
Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 23rd May 2024. SATYABRATA SAHOO, Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.