

[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2009-11.

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Rs. 1.60 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 51A]

CHENNAI, WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 29, 2010 Margazhi 14, Thiruvalluvar Aandu-2041

Part VI-Section 1

(Supplement)

NOTIFICATIONS BY HEADS OF DEPARTMENTS, ETC.

BAR COUNCIL OF TAMIL NADU AND PUDUCHERRY

Election Notification

NOTICE OF ELECTION UNDER RULE 5 OF THE BAR COUNCIL OF TAMIL NADU ELECTION RULES, 1975 READ WITH RULES CONTAINED IN PART-III OF THE RULES FRAMED BY THE BAR COUNCIL OF INDIA.

(Roc. No. 1661 of 2010)

No. VI(1)/418/2010.

- 1. An Election will be held on Friday, the 4th day of March 2011 to elect 25 Members to the Bar Council of Tamil Nadu and Puducherry of whom not less than 13 Members shall be persons, who have for atleast ten years been advocates on a State Roll. The Election will be held in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of Single Transferable Vote from amongst Advocates on the Electoral Roll.
- 2. Every candidate for Election as a Member of the Bar Council of Tamil Nadu and Puducherry shall be proposed by two voters as in Form No.A, prescribed under the Election Rules of the Bar Council of Tamil Nadu. The nomination form duly filled up shall be delivered to the Secretary, Bar Council of Tamil Nadu and Puducherry, Chennai by the candidate himself or by any one of the proposers. The nomination also may be sent by registered post to the Secretary, Bar Council of Tamil Nadu and Puducherry so as to reach him on or before 4th day of February 2011. The nomination will be accepted by the office between 11.00 a.m. and 4.00 p.m. on all working days from 31st day of January 2011 to 4th day of February 2011 (both days inclusive). Each contesting candidate shall pay a sum of Rs. 3,000 (Rupees three thousand only) towards non-refundable nomination fee along with the nomination. The amount may be paid by way of crossed Demand Draft payable to "The Secretary, Bar Council of Tamil Nadu and Puducherry, Chennai" payable at Chennai. The amount also may be paid directly into the S.B. Account No.484042697 with the Indian Bank, High Court Branch, Chennai-600 104.
 - 3. The nomination filed will be scrutinised by the Secretary as and when received.
- 4. Any person whose name has been proposed as a candidate may withdraw his candidature by communication in writing and signed by him so as to reach the Secretary, Bar Council of Tamil Nadu and Puducherry, Chennai on or before 10th day of February 2011. The fee of Rs.3,000 (Rupees three thousand only) paid by the candidate along with the nomination will be refunded to the candidate, who withdraws his candidature within the prescribed time.

- 5. In the event of the Election being contested, a Poll will take place by voting in person on Friday, the 4th day of March 2011 between 10.00 a.m. and 05.00 p.m. at the places mentioned hereunder. Voting papers will be handed over to the voters on request in person by the respective Polling Officers after obtaining their signatures for having received the same in Book kept for this purpose.
- 6. The counting of votes will commence from 11.00 a.m. on 9th day of March 2011 at the Bar Council Premises, High Court Campus, Chennai-600 104, or any other place as may be decided by the Returning Officer subject to the receipt of Ballot Boxes from various Polling Booths in the State.
- 7. Forms of nomination papers may be obtained free of cost from the Secretary, Bar Council of Tamil Nadu and Puducherry, High Court Campus, Chennai-600 104 during Office hours on any working day either in person or by post from 31st day of January 2011 to 4th day of February 2011. Election Rules are available in the Bar Council.

LIST OF POLLING BOOTHS

1. ARIYALUR	29. KODUMUDI
2. JAYANKONDAM	30. PERUNDURAI
3. COIMBATORE	31. SATHIYAMANGALAM
4. METTUPALAYAM	32. KANCHIPURAM
5. POLLACHI	33. ALANDUR
6. VALPARAI	34. CHENGALPATTU
7. CUDDALORE	35. MADURANTAKAM
8. CHIDAMBARAM	36. SRIPERUMPUDUR
9. KATTUMANNARKOVIL	37. TAMBARAM
10. NEYVELI	38. THIRUKALIKUNDRAM
11. PANRUTI	39. NAGERCOIL
12. PORTONOVO	40. BOOTHAPANDI
13. TITTAKUDI	41. ERANIEL
14. VRIDHACHALAM	42. KUZHITHURAI-I
15. DHARMAPURI	
16. HARUR	43. KUZHITHURAI-II
17. PALACODE	44. THUCKALAY
18. PENNAGARAM	45. KARUR
19. DINDIGUL	46. KULITHALAI
20. KODAIKANAL.	47. KRISHNAGIRI
21. NATHAM	48. DENKANIKOTTAI
22. NILAKOTTAI	49. HOSUR
23. ODENCHATRAM	50. POCHAMPALLI
24. PALANI	51. UTHANGARAI
25. VEDACHANDUR	52. MADURAI
26. ERODE	53. MADURAI HIGH COURT BENCH
27. BHAVANI	54. MELUR

55. TIRUMANGALAM

28. GOBICHETTIPALAYAM

LIST OF POLLING BOOTHS-cont.

56. USILAMPATTI 91. ORATHANADU 57. NAGAPATTINAM 92. PATTUKKOTTAI 58. MAIYLADUTHURAI 93. THIRUVAIYARU 59. SIRKALI 94. **THENI** 60. NAMAKKAL I 95. ANDIPATTI 61. NAMAKKAL II 96. BODINAYAKANUR 62. PARAMATHI 97. PERIYAKULAM 63. RASIPURAM 98. UTHAMAPALAYAM 64. TIRUCHENGODE 99. THIRUVARUR 65. **OOTY** 100. MANNARGUDI 66. COONOOR 101. NANNILAM 67. GUDALUR 102. THIRUTHURAIPOONDI 68. KOTAGIRI 103. TIRUCHIRAPPALLI 69. PERAMBALUR 104. LALGUDI 70. PUDUKOTTAI 105. MANAPPARAI 71. ARANTHANGI 106. MUSIRI 72. KEERANUR 107. TURAIYAUR 73. RAMANATHAPURAM 108. TIRUNELVELI 74. KAMUTHI 109. AMBASAMUDRAM 75. MUDUKALATHUR 110. CHERANMAHADEVI 76. PARAMAKUDI 111. NANGUNERI 77. THIRUVADANAI 112. SANKARANKOVIL 78. RAMESWARAM 113. SHENCOTTAH 79. **SALEM** 114. SIVAGIRI 80. ATTUR 115. TENKASI 81. METTURDAM 116. VALLIYOOR 82. OMALUR 117. TIRUPPUR 83. SANKARI 118. AVINASHI 84. SIVAGANGAI 119. DHARAPURAM 85. DEVAKOTTAI 120. KANGAYAM 86. KARAIKUDI 121. PALLADAM 122. UDUMALPETTAI 87. MANAMADURAI 88. THIRUPATHUR SVG 123. TIRUVALLUR

124. AMBATTUR125. PONNERI

89. THANJAVUR

90. KUMBAKONAM

LIST OF POLLING BOOTHS—cont.

126. POONAMALLEE	149. TIRUPATTUR VLR
127. TIRUVOTTIYUR	150. VANIYAMBADI
128. TIRUTTANI	151. WALAJAPET
129. UTHUKKOTTAI	152. VILLUPURAM
130. TIRUVANNAMALAI	153. GINGEE
131. ARANI	154. KALLAKURICHI
132. CHENGAM	155. SANKARAPURAM
133. CHEYYAR	156. TINDIVANAM
134. POLUR	157. TIRUKOILUR
135. VANDAVASI	158. ULUNDERPET
136. TUTICORIN	159. VANUR
137. KOVILPATTI	160. VIRUDUNAGAR
138. SATTANKULAM	161. ARUPPUKKOTTAI
139. SRIVAIKUNTAM	162. RAJAPALAYAM
140. TIRUCHENDUR	163. SATTUR
141. VILATHIKULAM	164. SIVAKASI
142. VELLORE	165. SRIVILLIPUTTUR
143. AMBUR	166. CHENNAI
144. ARAKKONAM	167. DRT & DRAT
145. GUDIYATTAM	168. EGMORE
146. KATPADI	169. GEORGE TOWN
147. RANIPET	170. SAIDAPET
148. SHOLINGHUR	171. PUDUCHERRY
	172. KARAIKAL

Bar Council Buildings, High Court Campus, Chennai-600 104, 27th day of December 2010. V. DAKSHANAMOORTHY, Secretary, Bar Council of Tamil Nadu and Puducherry.