

[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14 [R. Dis. No. 197/2009.

[Price: Rs. 1.60 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 2961

CHENNAI, TUESDAY, MAY 24, 2022 Vaikasi 10, Subakiruthu, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2053

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India

NOTIFICATIONS BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

APPOINTMENT OF DATES FOR VARIOUS STAGES AND FIXATION OF HOURS OF POLL FOR BIENNIAL ELECTIONS TO THE COUNCIL OF STATES TO FILL VACANCIES OF MEMBERS RETIRING DURING JUNE, 2022

No. SRO G-5/2022.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, New Delhi, dated: 24th May, 2022 [Jyaishtha 03, 1944 (Saka)] is republished:-

No. 318/CS-Multi/2/2022(1):- Whereas, the President of India has, by notification issued under Section 12 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951(43 of 1951) and published in the Gazette of India on 24th May, 2022 been pleased to call upon the elected members of each of the Legislative Assemblies of the States, specified in column (1) of the TABLE below, to elect to the Council of States, the number of member(s) specified against that State in column (2) of the said TABLE:

TABLE

SI. No.	Name of State	No. of members retiring
(1)	(2)	(3)
1.	Andhra Pradesh	04
2.	Telangana	02
3.	Chhattisgarh	02
4.	Madhya Pradesh	03
5.	Tamil Nadu	06
6.	Karnataka	04
7.	Odisha	03
8.	Maharashtra	06
9.	Punjab	02
10.	Rajasthan	04
11.	Uttar Pradesh	11
12.	Uttarakhand	01
13.	Bihar	05
14.	Jharkhand	02
15.	Haryana	02

Now, therefore, in pursuance of sub-section (1) of section 39 and section 56 of the said Act, the Election Commission of India hereby-

- (A) appoints, with respect to the said election;
 - (a) the 31st May, 2022 (Tuesday), as the last date for making nominations;
 - (b) the 01st June, 2022 (Wednesday), as the date for the scrutiny of the nominations;
 - (c) the 03rd June, 2022 (Friday), as the last date for the withdrawal of candidatures;
 - (d) the 10th June, 2022 (Friday), as the date on which a poll shall, if necessary, be taken; and
 - (e) the 13th June, 2022 (Monday), as the date before which the election shall be completed; and
- (B) fixes the hours from 09:00 am to 04:00 pm, as the hours during which the poll shall, if necessary, be taken in all the above mentioned States on the date specified above for the election.

(By Order)

SUMAN KUMAR DAS, Secretary to the Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 24th May, 2022. SATYABRATA SAHOO, Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.

APPOINTMENT OF RETURNING OFFICERS AND ASSISTANT RETURNING OFFICERS FOR BIENNIAL ELECTIONS TO THE COUNCIL OF STATES TO FILL VACANCIES OF MEMBERS RETIRING DURING JUNE, 2022

No. SRO G-6/2022.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, New Delhi, dated: 24th May, 2022 [Jyaishtha 03, 1944 (Saka)] is republished:-

No. 318/CS-Multi/2/2022(2):- In pursuance of Section 21, and in exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (1) of Section 22, of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951), the Election Commission of India, in consultation with the Government of each of the States, specified in the column (1) of the TABLE below, hereby-

- (i) designates the officer, specified in the corresponding entry in column (2) of the said TABLE to be the Returning Officer; and
- (ii) appoints the officer(s), specified in the corresponding entry in column (3) of the said TABLE, to be the Assistant Returning Officer(s) to assist the Returning Officer in the performance of his/her functions;

in respect of the biennial election to the Council of States, to be held in that State in pursuance of the notification of the President of India, published in the Gazette of India on 24th May, 2022: -

TABLE

States	Returning Officer	Assistant Returning Officer
(1)	(2)	(3)
Andhra Pradesh	Sri P. V. Subba Reddy, Deputy Secretary, Andhra Pradesh State Legislature	Smt. R. Vanitha Rani, Deputy Secretary, Andhra Pradesh State Legislature
Telangana	Sri Ch. Upender Reddy, Joint Secretary, Telangana State Legislature	Sri A. Sudhakar, Assistant Secretary, Telangana State Legislature
Chhattisgarh	Shri Dinesh Sharma, Secretary, Chhattisgarh Vidhan Sabha	Shri Dinesh Trivedi, Under Secretary, Chhattisgarh Vidhan Sabha
Madhya Pradesh	Shri Awadesh Pratap Singh, Principal Secretary, Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly Secretariat	Shri Bhagwatdeen Singh Paraste, Additional Secretary, Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly Secretariat

States	Returning Officer	Assistant Returning Officer
(1)	(2)	(3)
Tamil Nadu	Dr. K. Srinivasan, Secretary, Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly Secretariat	Thiru. K. Ramesh, Deputy Secretary, Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly Secretariat
Karnataka	Smt. M.K. Vishalakshi, Secretary(I/c), Karnataka Legislative Assembly, Vidhana Soudha, Bengaluru.	Shri B.S. Mahalingesh, Deputy Secretary, Karnataka Legislative Assembly, Vidhana Soudha, Bengaluru.
Odisha	Shri Bishnu Prasad Mishra, IAS, Secretary, OSSSC, Bhubaneswar	Shri Rangadhar Mallick, Under Secretary, Odisha Legislative Assembly
Maharashtra	Shri Rajendra Bhagwat, Principal Secretary, Maharashtra Legislature Secretariat	Shri Shivdarshan Shrinivas Sathye, Deputy Secretary, Maharashtra Legislature Secretariat
		Shri Mohan Sadashiv Kakad, Under Secretary, Maharashtra Legislature Secretariat
Punjab	Shri Surinder Pal, Secretary, Punjab Vidhan Sabha Secretariat, Chandigarh	Shri Ram Lok Khatana, Joint Secretary, Punjab Vidhan Sabha Secretariat, Chandigarh
Rajasthan	Dr. Joga Ram, Secretary to Government, Local Self Government, Rajasthan, Jaipur	Shri Vinod Kumar Mishra, Chief Research & Reference Officer, Rajasthan Vidhan Sabha
Uttar Pradesh	Sri. Brij Bhushan Dubey, Special Secretary, Legislative Assembly, Uttar Pradesh, Lucknow	Sri. Mohammad Mushahid, Special Secretary, Legislative Assembly, Uttar Pradesh, Lucknow
Uttarakhand	Shri Mukesh Singhal, Secretary, Uttarakhand Vidhan Sabha	Shri Chander Mohan Goswami, Joint Secretary, Uttarakhand Vidhan Sabha
Bihar	Shri Shailendra Singh, Secretary, Bihar Legislative Assembly, Patna.	Shri Pawan Kumar Pandey, Joint Secretary, Bihar Legislative Assembly, Patna.
Jharkhand	Shri Sayed Jawed Haider, Secretary (In-charge), Jharkhand Vidhan Sabha, Ranchi	Shri Ram Niwas Das, Joint Secretary, Jharkhand Vidhan Sabha, Ranchi
Haryana	Shri R. K. Nandal, Secretary, Haryana Vidhan Sabha, Chandigarh	Shri Vishnu Dev, Under Secretary, Haryana Vidhan Sabha, Chandigarh

(By Order)

Suman Kumar Das, Secretary to the Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 24th May, 2022. SATYABRATA SAHOO, Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.