© GOVERNMENT OF TAMIL NADU 2021 [Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14 [R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 416]

CHENNAI, WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 15, 2021 Aavani 30, Pilava, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2052

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India

NOTIFICATIONS BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

APPOINTMENT OF DATES FOR VARIOUS STAGES AND FIXATION OF HOURS OF POLL FOR BYE-ELECTION TO THE COUNCIL OF STATES TO FILL UP THE VACANCY CAUSED DUE TO THE RESIGNATION OF THIRU K.P. MUNUSAMY VACANT FROM 07-05-2021.

No. SRO G-32/2021.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, New Delhi, dated 15th September, 2021 [Bhadrapada 24, 1943 (Saka)] is republished:-

No. 100/CS-TN/06/2021 (1):- WHEREAS, the seat of Thiru. K.P. Munusamy in the Council of States, elected by the elected members of the Legislative Assembly of Tamil Nadu, has become vacant on 07-05-2021 by the reason of his resignation, before the expiration of his term of office which was up to and including 02-04-2026; and

WHEREAS, a bye-election is to be held for the purpose of filling the vacancy so caused;

NOW, THEREFORE, in pursuance of Section 147, sub-section (1) of Section 39 and Section 56 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951), the Election Commission of India hereby-

- (A) calls upon the elected members of the Legislative Assembly of Tamil Nadu to elect, before 6th October, 2021 and in accordance with the provisions of the said Act and of the rules and orders made thereunder, a person for the purpose of filling the said vacancy in the Council of States;
- (B) appoints, with respect to the said election;
 - (a) the 22nd September, 2021 (Wednesday), as the last date for making nominations;
 - (b) the 23rd September, 2021 (Thursday), as the date for the scrutiny of the nominations;
 - (c) the 27th September, 2021 (Monday), as the last date for the withdrawal of candidatures;
 - (d) the 4th October, 2021 (Monday), as the date on which a poll shall, if necessary, be taken; and
 - (e) the 6th October, 2021 (Wednesday), as the date before which the election shall be completed; and

(C) fixes the hours from 09:00 am to 04:00 pm, as the hours during which the poll shall, if necessary, be taken on the date specified above for the election.

(By Order)

SUMAN KUMAR DAS, Secretary to the Election Commission of India.

ANNE JOSEPH, Chief Electoral Officer (i/c) Additional Chief Electoral Officer and Additional Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 15th September, 2021.