

[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14 [R. Dis. No. 197/2009.

[Price: Re.0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 1741

CHENNAI, THURSDAY, MARCH 18, 2021 Panguni 5, Saarvari, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2052

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India

NOTIFICATION BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

VOTING THROUGH POSTAL BALLOT FOR ABSENTEE VOTERS IN THE CATEGORY OF PERSONS EMPLOYED IN ESSENTIAL SERVICES.

No. SRO G-19/2021.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated17th March 2021 [26 Phalguna, 1942 (Saka)] is published:

No.52/2021/SDR/VOL.I, dated: 17th March, 2021.

In pursuance of the provisions of clause (c) of Section-60 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, on due consideration of the matter in consultation with the Government, the Election Commission hereby notifies that the persons employed in the following essential services:

- 1. Loco Pilots,
- 2. Assistant Loco Pilots,
- 3. Motormen,
- 4. Guards,
- 5. Travelling Ticket Examiners,
- 6. AC Coach Attendants,
- 7. Railway Protection Force Personnel on Train, escorting duties of the Railway Department.
- 8. Media persons authorized by ECI for poll day;
- 9. Aviation; and
- 10. Shipping

Who on account of being on duty on the day of poll in the current bye Election to House of the People of Tamil Nadu notified on 12-03-2021, will not be able to be present in their respective polling station, as a class of persons to give vote by postal ballot in the said general election as per the provisions of Part-IIIA of the Conduct of Elections Rules, 1961, as amended vide Ministry of Law & Justice, Government of India, Notification, SO No. 3786(E), dated 22nd October, 2019, and directions and guidelines issued by the Election Commission, in this behalf.

(By Order)

N.T. BHUTIA, Secretary, Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 18th March, 2021. SATYABRATA SAHOO, Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government. Public (Elections) Department.