

[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14 [R. Dis. No. 197/2009.

[Price: Re.0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 1651

CHENNAI, FRIDAY, MARCH 12, 2021 Maasi 28, Saarvari, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2052

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India

NOTIFICATION BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

APPOINTMENT OF DATES FOR VARIOUS STAGES OF BYE-ELECTION TO LOK SABHA FROM 39. KANNIYAKUMARI PARLIAMENTARY CONSTITUENCY, 2021 AND FIXATION OF HOURS OF POLL TO FILL A VACANCY CAUSED BY THE DEATH OF A MEMBER.

No. SRO G - 16/2021.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 12th March, 2021 [21 Phalguna, 1942 (Saka)] is published:-

No.100/TN-HP/1/2021 (1):- **WHEREAS**, the seat of Shri H. Vasanthakumar, in the House of the People, elected from 39- Kanniyakumari Parliamentary Constituency in the State of Tamil Nadu, has become vacant on 28.08.2020, by reason of his death.

- 2. WHEREAS, a bye-election is to be held for the purpose of filling the vacancy so caused;
- 3. **NOW, THEREFORE**, in pursuance of sub-section (1) of Section 149, and Sections 30 and 56 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951), the Election Commission of India hereby -
- **(A) calls upon** the said 39- Kanniyakumari Parliamentary Constituency in the State of Tamil Nadu, to elect, before the 04.05.2021 (Tuesday) and in accordance with the provisions of the said Act and of the rules and orders made thereunder, a person for the purpose of filling the said vacancy in the House of the People;
 - (B) appoints, with respect to the said election, -
 - (a) the 19.03.2021 (Friday), as the last date for making nominations;
 - (b) the 20.03.2021 (Saturday) as the date for the scrutiny of nominations;
 - (c) the 22.03.2021 (Monday), as the last date for the withdrawal of candidatures;
 - (d) the 06.04.2021 (Tuesday), as the date on which a poll shall, if necessary, be taken; and
 - (e) the 04.05.2021 (Tuesday) as the date before which the election shall be completed; and

(C) fixes the hours from 7:00 A.M. to 7:00 P.M., as the hours during which the poll shall, if necessary, be taken on the date specified above for the election.

(By Order)

MALAY MALLICK, Secretary, Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 12th March, 2021. SATYABRATA SAHOO, Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.