[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 1551

CHENNAI, FRIDAY, MARCH 5, 2021 Maasi 21, Saarvari, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2052

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India

NOTIFICATIONS BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

ATTESTATION OF DECLARATION IN FORM 13A FOR POSTAL BALLOT

No. SRO G-12/2021.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 3rd March, 2021 [12 Phalguna, 1942 (Saka)] is published:

No. 3/4/2021/SDR/VOL.I.

Whereas, sub-rule (2) of Rule 24 of the Conduct of Elections Rules, 1961, specifies that the elector shall sign the declaration in Form 13A in the presence of, and have the signature attested by, a stipendiary magistrate or such other officer specified under the said sub-rule, as may be appropriate, to whom he is personally known to or to whose satisfaction he has been identified.

Whereas, sub-rule (2) (c) of Rule 24 specifies that in the case of a voter on election duty, any gazette officer (or the presiding officer of the polling station at which he is on election duty) shall attest the signature of the elector.

Whereas, sub-rule (2) (e) of Rule 24 further specifies that in any other case, such officer as may be notified in this behalf by the Election Commission shall attest the signature of elector.

Whereas, as informed by Chief Electoral Officer, Tamil Nadu, the Government of Tamil Nadu while abolishing the system of Classification of Government servants into Gazetted and Non-Gazetted Officers, has classified the Government servants into four Groups *viz.*, Group A, Group B, Group C and Group D.

The Election Commission, in view of the abolition of classification of Gazetted and Non-Gazetted officers in the State of Tamil Nadu, hereby notifies that all the Group A and Group B officers in the state who have been permitted to attest the true copies of certificated, testimonials, etc., shall function as the Officer for the purpose of attesting the declaration given by the elector on election duty in Form 13A, under sub-rule (2) (c) of Rule 24 of the Conduct of Election Rules, 1961.

(By Order)

N.T. BHUTIA,
Secretary,
Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 5th March, 2021. SATYABRATA SAHOO, Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.