[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14 [R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 366]

CHENNAI, MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 23, 2019 Purattasi 6, Vikari, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2050

Part V—Section 4

Notification by the Election Commission of India

NOTIFICATION BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

APPOINTMENT OF DATES FOR VARIOUS STAGES OF BYE-ELECTION TO TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FROM 75.VIKRAVANDI ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCY AND FIXATION OF HOURS OF POLL TO FILL A VACANCY CAUSED BY THE DEATH OF A MEMBER

No. SRO G-53/2019.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 23rd September, 2019 [1 Asvina, 1941 (Saka)] is published:

No.100/TN-LA/23/2019: -Whereas, the seat of Shri K Rathamani, in the Legislative Assembly of the Tamil Nadu State, elected from 75-Vikravandi Assembly Constituency has become vacant on 14-06-2019, by reason of death; and

2. Whereas, a bye-election is to be held for the purpose of filling the vacancy so caused; and

3. Now, therefore, in pursuance of sub-section (1) of Section 150 and Sections 30 and 56 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951), the Election Commission of India hereby:-

(A) Calls upon the said 75-Vikravandi Assembly Constituency in the State of Tamil Nadu to elect, before the 27-10-2019 (Sunday) and in accordance with the provisions of the said Act and of the rules and orders made there under, a person, for the purpose of filling the said vacancy in the Legislative Assembly of the State; and

(B) Appoints, with respect to the said election,-

- (a) the 30-09-2019 (Monday), as the last date for making nominations;
- (b) the 1-10-2019 (Tuesday), as the date for scrutiny of nominations;
- (c) the 03-10-2019 (Thursday), as the last date for withdrawal of candidatures;
- (d) the 21-10-2019 (Monday), as the date, on which a poll shall, if necessary, be taken;
- (e) the 27-10-2019 (Sunday), as the date before which the election shall be completed, and

(C) Fixes the hours from 7.00 A.M. to 6.00 P.M. as the hours during which the poll shall, if necessary, be taken on the date specified above, for the election.

(By Order)

MALAY MALLICK, Secretary, Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 23rd September, 2019. SATYABRATA SAHOO, Chief Electoral Officer and Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.