[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14 [R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Rs. 1.60 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 76]

CHENNAI, SATURDAY, APRIL5, 2014 Panguni 22, Vijaya, Thiruvalluvar Aandu – 2045

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India

DIRECTION BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

ELECTION COMMISSION'S DIRECTION SPECIFYING THAT THE VOTES AT THE CURRENT GENERAL ELECTION TO THE HOUSE OF THE PEOPLE, 2014 SHALL BE GIVEN AND RECORDED BY MEANS OF ELECTRONIC VOTING MACHINES

No. SRO G-15/2014

The following Direction of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 01st April, 2014 is republished:—

No. 576/3/EVM/2014/SDR-Vol.I: -Whereas, Section 61A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, provides that the giving and recording of votes by Voting Machines in such manner as may be prescribed, may be adopted in such constituencies as the Election Commission of India may, having regard to the circumstances of each case specify; and

2. Whereas, the Commission has considered the circumstances in all the Parliamentary Constituencies and the Assembly Constituencies, and is satisfied that sufficient number of Electronic Voting Machines are available for taking the poll in all Parliamentary Constituencies of India, and all Assembly Constituencies of Andbra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha and Sikkim and in the 27 Assembly Constituencies (as per Annexure-I) of Bihar, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Mizoram, Uttar Pradesh, Tamil Nadu & West Bengal. The polling personnel are well trained in efficient handling of the Electronic Voting Machines and the electors are also fully conversant with the operation of the Electronic Voting Machines;

3. Now, therefore, the Election Commission of India hereby specifies each of the 543 Parliamentary Constituencies at the current General election to the House of the People, 2014, each of the 294 Assembly Constituencies of Andhra Pradesh, each of the 60 Assembly Constituencies of Arunachal Pradesh, each of the 147 Assembly Constituencies of Odisha and each of the 32 Assembly Constituencies of Sikkim at the current General Election to the State Legislative Assemblies and the 27 Assembly Constituencies (as per Annexure-I) of Bihar, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Mizoram, Uttar Pradesh, Tamil Nadu & West Bengal, from where bye-elections are being held as the constituencies in which the votes at the current General Elections to the House of the People and State Legislative Assemblies of the said States and the bye elections to 27 assembly constituencies

TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE EXTRAORDINARY

concerned in the said States, notified/to be notified on13-03-2014, 14-03-2014, 15-03-2014, 19-03-2014, 29-03-2014, 02-04-2014, 12-04-2014 & 17-04-2014, shall be given and recorded by means of Electronic Voting Machines in the manner prescribed under the Conduct of Elections Rules, 1961, and the supplementary instructions issued by the Commission from time to time on the subject.

(By Order)

ASHISH CHAKRABORTY, Secretary, Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 5th April, 2014.

PRAVEEN KUMAR,

Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.

ANNEXURE-I

BYE-ELECTIONS TO THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCIES

SI.No.	State	AC No.	Name of AC	Date of Poll
1.	Bihar	20	Chiraia	7th May, 2014
2.	Bihar	55	Kochadhaman	24th April, 2014
3.	Bihar	57	Baisi	24th April, 2014
4.	Bihar	112	Maharajganj	7th May, 2014
5.	Bihar	145	Sahebpur Kamal	30th April, 2014
6.	Gujarat	1	Abdasa	30th April, 2014
7.	Gujarat	6	Rapar	30th April, 2014
8.	Gujarat	27	Himatnagar	30th April, 2014
9.	Gujarat	87	Visavadar	30th April, 2014
10.	Gujarat	90	Somnath	30th April, 2014
11.	Gujarat	96	Lathi	30th April, 2014
12.	Gujarat	157	Mandvi (ST)	30th April, 2014
13.	Himachal Pradesh	37	Sujanpur	7th May, 2014
14.	Madhya Pradesh	144	Vidisha	24th April, 2014
15.	Maharashtra	33	Risod	10th April, 2014
16.	Mizoram	28	Hrangturzo(ST)	9th April, 2014
17.	Uttar Pradesh	165	Unnao	30th April, 2014
18.	Uttar Pradesh	240	Fatehpur	30th April, 2014
19.	Uttar Pradesh	244	Rampur Khas	7th May, 2014
20.	Uttar Pradesh	247	Vishwanath Ganj	7th May, 2014

2

TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE EXTRAORDINARY

SI.No.	State	A C No.	Name of A C	Date of Poll
21.	Tamil Nadu	28	Alandur	24th April, 2014
22.	West Bengal	10	Kumargram (ST)	17th April, 2014
23.	West Bengal	16	Maynaguri (SC)	17th April, 2014
24.	West Bengal	86	Santipur	12th May, 2014
25	West Bengal	91	Chakdaha	12th May, 2014
26.	West Bengal	256	Katulpur (SC)	7th May, 2014
27.	West Bengal	274	Galsi (SC)	30th April, 2014

(By Order)

ASHISH CHAKRABORTY, Secretary, Election Commission of India.

PRAVEEN KUMAR,

Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 5th April, 2014.

PRINTED AND PUBLISHED BY THE DIRECTOR OF STATIONERY AND PRINTING, CHENNAI ON BEHALF OF THE GOVERNMENT OF TAMIL NADU