

[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No.71]

CHENNAI, SATURDAY, MARCH 29, 2014 Panguni 15, Vijaya, Thiruvalluvar Aandu – 2045

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India

NOTIFICATIONS BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

APPOINTMENT OF DATES FOR VARIOUS STAGES OF BYE-ELECTION TO TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FROM 28. ALANDUR ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCY AND FIXATION OF HOURS OF POLL TO FILL A VACANCY CAUSED BY THE RESIGNATION OF A MEMBER

No. SRO. G-13/2014.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated: 29th March, 2014 [8 Chaitra, 1936 (Saka)] is published:—

No.100/TN-LA/1/2014:— Whereas, the seat of Shri S. Ramachandran, in the Legislative Assembly of the Tamil Nadu State, elected from 28-Alandur Assembly Constituency has become vacant on 10th December, 2013, by reason of his resignation; and

- 2. Whereas, a bye-election is to be held for the purpose of filling the vacancy so caused;
- 3. Now, therefore, in pursuance of sub-section (1) of Section 150, 30 and 56 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951), the Election Commission of India hereby:—
- (A) Calls upon the Bye-election 28-Alandur Assembly Constituency in the State of Tamil Nadu to elect, before the 28th May, 2014 (Wednesday) and in accordance with the provisions of the said Act and of the rules and orders made thereunder, a person, for the purpose of filling the said vacancy in the Legislative Assembly of the State; and

- (B) Appoints, with respect to the said Election,-
 - (a) the 05-04-2014, (Saturday) as the last date for making nominations;
 - (b) the 07-04-2014, (Monday) as the date for the scrutiny of nominations;
 - (c) the 09-04-2014, (Wednesday) as the last date for withdrawal of candidatures;
 - (d) the 24-04-2014, (Thursday) as the date, on which a poll shall, if necessary, be taken;
 - (e) the 28-05-2014, (Wednesday) as the date before which the election shall be completed, and
- (C) Fixes the hours from 7.00 A.M. to 6.00 P.M, as the hours during which the poll shall, if necessary, be taken on the date specified above, for the election.

(By Order)

TAPAS KUMAR, Principal Secretary, Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 29th March, 2014.

PRAVEEN KUMAR,

Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.