

[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 121]

CHENNAI, MONDAY, JUNE 16, 2014 Aani 2, Jaya, Thiruvalluvar Aandu – 2045

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India

NOTIFICATIONS BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

APPOINTMENT OF DATES FOR VARIOUS STAGES AND FIXATION OF HOURS OF POLL FOR BYE-ELECTION TO COUNCIL OF STATES TO FILL UP THE VACANCY CAUSED DUE TO DISQUALIFICATION VACANT FROM 17-4-2014.

No. SRO G-23/2014.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, New Delhi, dated 16th June 2014 [Jyaishtha 26, 1936 (Saka)] is republished:—

No. 100/CS-TN/12/2014.—(1), Whereas the seat of Shri T.M. Selvaganapathi in the Council of States, elected by the elected members of the Legislative Assembly of the State of Tamil Nadu, has become vacant on 17th April, 2014 in terms of sub-clause (a) of clause (3) of Article 101 of the Constitution by the reason of his incurring disqualification under Section 8 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 read with sub-clause (e) of clause (1) of Article 102 of the Constitution, before the expiration of his term of office which was up to and including the 29th June, 2016; and

Whereas, a bye-election is to be held for the purpose of filling the vacancy so caused;

Now, therefore, in pursuance of Section 147, sub-section (1) of Section 39 and Section 56 of the Representation of the people Act, 1951 (43 of 1951), the Election Commission of India hereby—

- (A) calls upon the elected members of the Legislative Assembly of the State of Tamil Nadu to elect, before 5th July 2014 (Saturday), and in accordance with the provisions of the said Act and of the rules and orders made thereunder, a person for the purpose of filling the said vacancy in the Council of States;
 - (B) appoints, with respect to the said election;
 - (a) the 23rd June, 2014 (Monday), as the last date for making nominations;
 - (b) the 24th June, 2014 (Tuesday) as the date for the scrutiny of the nominations;
 - (c) the 26th June 2014 (Thursday), as the last date for the withdrawal of candidatures;
 - (d) the 3rd July 2014 (Thursday), as the date on which a poll shall, if necessary, be taken; and
 - (e) the 5th July, 2014 (Saturday), as the date before which the election shall be completed; and

(C) fixes the hours from 9.00 A.M. to 4.00 P.M. as the hours during which the poll shall, if necessary, be taken on the date specified above for the election.

(By Order)

K. AJAYA KUMAR,
Principal Secretary to the
Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 16th June, 2014.

AJAY YADAV,

Chief Electoral Officer (In-charge), Joint Chief Electoral Officer (IT) and Deputy Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.

APPOINTMENT OF RETURNING OFFICER AND ASSISTANT RETURNING OFFICER FOR BYE-ELECTION TO COUNCIL OF STATES TO FILL UP THE VACANCY CAUSED DUE TO DISQUALIFICATION VACANT FROM 17-4-2014.

No. SRO G-24/2014.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, New Delhi, dated: 16th June, 2014 [Jyaishtha 26, 1936 (Saka)] is republished:-

- No. 100/CS-TN/12/2014.—(2):- In pursuance of Section 21, and in exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (1) of Section 22, of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951), the Election Commission of India, in consultation with the Government of the State of Tamil Nadu hereby—
 - I. designates the officer, specified in column (1) of the TABLE below, to be the Returning Officer; and
- II. appoints the officer, specified in column (2) of the said Table, to be the Assistant Returning Officer to assist the Returning Officer in the performance of his functions;

in respect of the bye-election to the Council of States, to be held in that State in pursuance of the Commission's Notification, published in the *Gazette of India* on 16th June, 2014:-

TABLE

Officer Designated as Returning Officer Officer Appointed as Assistant Returning Officer

(1)

(2)

Secretary,
Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly

Thiru A. Veerarajendran, Deputy Secretary, Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly.

(By Order)

K. AJAYA KUMAR,
Principal Secretary to the
Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 16th June, 2014.

AJAY YADAV,

Chief Electoral Officer (In-charge), Joint Chief Electoral Officer (IT) and Deputy Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.