©
GOVERNMENT OF TAMIL NADU
2013

[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14.

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Rs. 1.60 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 193]

CHENNAI, MONDAY, JULY 8, 2013 Aani 24, Vijaya, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2044

Part VI—Section 2

Notifications or Orders of interest to a section of the public issued by Heads of Departments, etc.

NOTIFICATIONS BY HEADS OF DEPARTMENTS, ETC.

TAMIL NADU STATE ELECTION COMMISSION, CHENNAI.

[ELECTIONS—ORDINARY ELECTIONS TO RURAL LOCAL BODIES - OCTOBER 2011 - THOOTHUKUDI DISTRICT - CONTESTED CANDIDATES - ACCOUNT OF ELECTION EXPENSES - FAILURE TO LODGE - SHOW CAUSE NOTICES ISSUED - DISQUALIFICATION - ORDERED.]

(S.O. No. 5/2013/TNSEC/PE-2.)

No. VI(2)/126(a)/2013.

WHEREAS, in the Notification issued with the S.O. first read above, by invoking sub-rule (3) of the rule 120 of the Tamil Nadu Panchayats (Elections) Rules, 1995, the Commission directed that all the contesting candidates in the elections listed therein shall lodge a true copy of their election expenses kept by them or by their respective election agent under sub-rule (1) of rule 120 of the said Rules in the format prescribed therefor under sub-rule (2) of the rule 120 of the said Rules with the officers mentioned therein, within thirty days from the date of declaration of the result of the elections:

- 2. WHEREAS, in the Notification issued with the S.O. second read above, this Commission prescribed a format for the said purpose by invoking sub-rule (2) of the rule 120 of the said Rules;
 - 3. WHEREAS, this Commission conducted Ordinary Elections to the Rural Local Bodies during October 2011;
- 4. WHEREAS, the District Election Officer/District Collector, Thoothukudi, in the letter third read above reported that 21 candidates contested in the said Ordinary Elections for various offices (and one contested candidate from Village Panchayat President had expired) failed to lodge copies of their account of election expenses as directed by this Commission;
- 5. WHEREAS, based on the report of the said District Election Officer/District Collector, a show cause notice was issued (except expired candidate) in the reference fourth read above to each of the contested candidate who failed to lodge a true copy of the account of election expenses in the Ordinary Elections held during the month of October, 2011, through the District Election Officer/District Collector, calling for explanation within 20 days of the receipt of the said Notice, as to why action should not be taken against him/her as per sub-section (4) of Section 37 of the Tamil Nadu Panchayats Act, 1994 (Tamil Nadu Act 21 of 1994);

- 6. WHEREAS, the said District Election Officer/District Collector, in his letter fifth read above, has now reported that out of the said 20 contested candidates, 16 contested candidates have neither submitted their explanations nor lodged the account of election expenses in spite of the show cause notices issued to them; and
- 7. WHEREAS, in view of the said report of the District Election Officer/District Collector, the Tamil Nadu State Election Commission is satisfied that 16 candidates listed in column (3) of the Table below against the contested election mentioned in the corresponding entry in column (2) thereof, have failed to lodge an account of election expenses as required by or under the said Act and have no justification for the failure.
- 8. NOW, THEREFORE, in exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (4) of Section 37 of the Tamil Nadu Panchayats Act, 1994 (Tamil Nadu Act 21 of 1994), the Tamil Nadu State Election Commission hereby declares that the candidates listed in column (3) of the Table below against the contested election mentioned in the corresponding entry in column (2) thereof, shall be disqualified, for being chosen as a member or president for a period of three years from the date of this Order.

THE TABLE

Thoothukudi District

SI. No. (1)	Election Contested (2)	Name of the Candidate with Address Thiruvalargal/Tmt./Selvi (3)
1.	District Panchayat Ward Member Ward No. 4 Thoothukudi District	V. Balasingh, S/o. Veerapazham, 15/12, Thangammalpuram, Thatchanvilai, Puththantharuvai.
2.	District Panchayat Ward Member Ward No. 5 Thoothukudi District	D. Suresh, S/o. Dharmaraj, 2/53, V. Kovilpaththu, Karungulam Panchayat Union, Srivaikundam Taluk.
3.	District Panchayat Ward Member Ward No. 5 Thoothukudi District	U. Nallakannu, S/o. Ri. Ulagumuthu, 1/47, Pillaiyar Kovil Street, Sungunathapuram, Keelpidagai Kaspa, Srivaikundam.
4.	District Panchayat Ward Member Ward No. 5 Thoothukudi District	P. Suresh, S/o. Pitchaimani, 4/54, Eluvaraimukki, Nazerath-628 617.
5.	District Panchayat Ward Member Ward No. 6 Thoothukudi District	C. Lalitha @ Velammal,W/o. Sivalingaraja,2/98-A, Subramaniyapuram,V. Aathichanallur.
6.	District Panchayat Ward Member Ward No. 9 Thoothukudi District	F. Sekar, S/o. A. Francis Martin, 11/95, Ri. Saveriyarpuram, Thoothukudi Taluk.
7.	District Panchayat Ward Member Ward No. 9 Thoothukudi District	A. Karpagakani, S/o. Arumugam, 1/41, Pudur Pandiyapuram, Ottapidaram Taluk.
8.	District Panchayat Ward Member Ward No. 11 Thoothukudi District	V. Valliyammal, W/o. Se. Velmurugan, 3/79, Parivallikottai, Ottapidaram Taluk.
9.	District Panchayat Ward Member Ward No. 12 Thoothukudi District	S.P. Mahalakshmi, W/o. Paulraj, 298/H/6, Rajiv Nagar, 4th Street, Kovilpatti-628 502.

10.	District Panchayat Ward Member Ward No. 12 Thoothukudi District	T. Saraswathi, W/o. Thangaraj, 1/182, Pillaiyar Koil Street, Pasuvanthanai, Ottapidaram Taluk.
11.	District Panchayat Ward Member Ward No. 12 Thoothukudi District	C. Valliyammal, Vedakoil Street, Rajapudukkudi, Kayathar Panchayat Union.
12.	District Panchayat Ward Member Ward No. 15 Thoothukudi District	G. Ezhilarasi, W/o. Gandhiyammal, 189, APA Sabai, Prakasapuram, Kulathur.
13.	District Panchayat Ward Member Ward No. 15 Thoothukudi District	C. Sudha, W/o. Chandrasekar, V. Vedappatti P.O., Vilathikulam Taluk.
14.	District Panchayat Ward Member Ward No. 16 Thoothukudi District	M. Vijayapandi, 4/545, Panaiyur, Kulathur.
15.	District Panchayat Ward Member Ward No. 16 Thoothukudi District	S. Ravindran, 16/14, M. Kumarasakanapuram, Ariyanayagipuram P.O., Vilathikulam Taluk.
16.	District Panchayat Ward Member Ward No. 16 Thoothukudi District	G. Shanmugasundaram, S/o. Ganapathy, 83, Pillaiyarnatham.

(By Order of the Tamil Nadu State Election Commission)

Chennai-600 106, 8th July 2013. B. JOTHI NIRMALA, Secretary, Tamil Nadu State Election Commission.