[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14.

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Rs. 1.60 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 166]

CHENNAI, TUESDAY, JUNE 18, 2013 Aani 4, Vijaya, Thiruvalluvar Aandu-2044

Part II—Section 2

Notifications or Orders of interest to a section of the public issued by Secretariat Departments.

NOTIFICATIONS BY GOVERNMENT

LAW DEPARTMENT

(Law School)

CONSTITUTE THE GENERAL COUNCIL OF THE TAMIL NADU NATIONAL LAW SCHOOL ACT, 2012.

[G.O. Ms. No. 365, Law (LS), 18th June 2013, ஆனி 4, விஜய, திருவள்ளுவர் ஆண்டு–2044.]

[C. No. 642/S/P/LS/2013, LAW (LS.)]

No.II(2)/LAW/419-(d)/2013/2013.

Whereas, the Chancellor, the Tamil Nadu National Law School under sub-section (2) of Section 21 of the Tamil Nadu National Law School Act, 2012 (Tamil Nadu Act 9 of 2012), has constituted the General council of the Tamil Nadu National Law School, consisting of, in addition to the Chancellor, the Pro-Chancellor and the Vice-Chancellor, the following members, namely:—

Class I - Ex-officio Members

- (a) The Advocate General, Tamil Nadu;
- (b) The Chairman, Bar Council of Tamil Nadu;
- (c) The Vice-Chancellor, the Tamil Nadu Dr. Ambedkar Law University;
- (d) The Secretary to Government, in charge of Law;
- (e) The Secretary to Government in charge of Higher Education;
- (f) The Secretary to Government, in charge of Finance.

Class II - Other Members.

- (a) A serving Judge and a retired Judge of Madras High Court nominated by the Chancellor.
 - 1. Hon'ble Justice. M. Jaichandren, Judge, High Court of Madras, Chennai-600 104.
 - Hon'ble Justice A.S. Venkatachalamoorthy, Chief Justice (Retd.)
 No. 87, 5th Avenue, Anna Nagar, Chennai-600 040;
- (b) Two Professors of the School to be nominated by the Vice-Chancellor;
- (c) Two Professors, with not less than twenty years of teaching experience in the field of Law, other than from the School nominated by the Vice-Chancellor:

1. Prof. (Dr.) V.C. Vivekanandan,

MHRD IP Chair Professor - Proximate Education,

NALSAR University of Law

C 614-107, Sai Nivas, Om Sai Colony,

Alwal, Secunderabed - 500 010.

2. Prof. (Dr.) K. Vijayalakshmi,

professor of Law,

Dr. Ambedkar Government Law College, Pondicherry,

Cannammai Apartments (TF-H),

No. 1, Seventh Cross Street, Brindavanam,

Pondicherry-605 013.

(d) A Member of the Bar Council of India nominated by the Chancellor:

Mr. S. Prabhakaran,

Advocate and Member, Bar Council of India,

No. 63, Bharathiyar Street, Venkatesan Nagar,

Chennai-600 082.

(e) A Senior Advocate nominated by the Chancellor:

Mr. G. Masilamani,

Senior Advocate & Additional Solicitor General,

No. 42, 'Y' Block, Anna Nagar,

Chennai-600 040:

And Whereas, by virtue of sub-section (3) of Section 24 of the said Act, the Executive Council of the said School consists of the following members, namely:—

Class I - Ex-officio Members

- (a) The Vice Chancellor;
- (b) The Advocate General, Tamil Nadu;
- (c) The Heads of Departments of the School;
- (d) The Secretary to Government, in-charge of Law

Class II - Other Members

(a) A serving or a retired Judge of the High Court of Madras, nominated by the Chancellor;

Hon'ble Mr. Justice V. Dhanapalan, Judge, High Court of Madras,

Chennai-600 104.

- (b) Two members of the Bar Council of Tamil Nadu nominated by the Chancellor:
 - 1. Mr. E.T. Rajendran,

Advocate & Member,

Bar Council of Tamil Nadu,

No. 3/105, Kannadasan 1st Street,

S.S. Colony, Madurai-625 016.

2. Mr. R. Arunachalam,

Member.

Bar Council of Tamil Nadu,

No. 105, First Floor,

Gopalapuram 1st Street,

Coimbatore - 641 018;

- (c) Two members nominated by the Chancellor from among eminent Senior Advocates:
 - 1. Mr. M. Vallinayagam,

Senior Advocate,

Plot No. 677, 8th Street,

Karpaga Nagar, K. Pudur,

Madurai-625 007.

2. Mr. M.K. Kabir.

Senior Advocate,

No. 21, Anderson Street,

Ayanavaram, Chennai-600 023;

- (d) One member to be nominated by the Government from among the members of the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly;
- (e) Three Professors to be elected from and by the teaching staff of the School;

And Whereas, by virtue of Section 28 of the said Act, the Academic Council of the said School consists of the following members namely:—

Class I - Ex-officio Members.

- (a) The Vice-Chancellor;
- (b) The Deans of Faculties;
- (c) All the Head of Departments of the School;
- (d) All Professors of the School;
- (e) the Librarian of the School Library.

Class II - Other Members

(a) A member of the Bar Council of India nominated by the Chancellor;

Mr. T.S. Ajith, Advocate & Member, Bar Council of India, Thaliyil House, Mammiyur, Guruvayru P.O., Thrissure - 680 101;

(b) A Member of the Bar Council of Tamil Nadu nominated by the Chancellor:

Mr. K. Ranganathan, Advocate & Member, Bar Council of Tamil Nadu, No. 10, II Cross, Jaya Nagar, Reddiarpalayam, Puducherry - 605 010;

- (c) Two members representing the Associate Professor and Assistant Professor of the School to be nominated by the Vice-Chancellor;
 - (d) A Professor of the Tamil Nadu Dr. Ambedkar Law University nominated by the Vice-Chancellor;

Prof. (Dr.) D. Gopal, Professor and HOD on Environmental Law, Tamil Nadu Dr. Ambedkar Law University, Chennai-600 028;

- (e) A Senior Professor in Law from any one of the National Law Universities in India to be nominated by the Vice-Chancellor;
- (f) One teacher of every subject of study other than Law Offered under the Scheme and Syllabus prescribed by the Shcool to be nominated by the Vice-Chancellor;
 - (g) An eminent person in the field of judiciary nominated by the Chancellor;

Prof. S.Sachidanandan, Former Vice-Chancellor, Tamil Nadu Dr. Ambedkar Law University, No. H-39/11, West Avenue, Kamaraj Nagar, Thiruvanmiyur, Chennai-600 041;

(h) A member of the Southern Chamber of Commerce and Industry nominated by the Vice-Chancellor;

Mr. Ravi Ramamurthy,

Member,

The Sourthern India Chamber of Commerce and Industries,

Indian Chambers Buildings,

No. 6, Esplanade, Chennai-600 108;

(i) An eminent person in the field of Social Service nominated by the Vice-Chancellor;

P. Selvaraj, son of M. Ponnan, Chairman, Kamatchi Polytechnic, No. 6/69, Koiyathoppu, Athapathur Post, Somarsen patti (Via) Srirangam (TK), Pincode-620 102;

4 TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE EXTRAORDINARY

And Whereas, by virtue of sub-section (1) of Section 31 of the said Act, the Finance Committee of the said School consists of the following members, namely:—

- (a) The Vice-Chancellor;
- (b) The Secretary to Government in-charge of Finance;
- (c) The Secretary to Government in-charge of Law; and
- (d) A member of the Southern India Regional Council of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of India to be nominated by the Executive Council;

Now, therefore, in exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (3) of Section 53 of the said Act, the Governor of Tamil Nadu hereby specifies 18th June 2013, as the date on which the General Council, the Executive Council, the Academic Council and the Finance Committee shall commence to exercise their functions.

G. JAYACHANDRAN, Secretary to Government.