[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14.

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 65]

CHENNAI, MONDAY, MARCH 12, 2012 Maasi 29, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2043

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India

NOTIFICATION BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

ELECTION COMMISSION'S NOTIFICATION REGARDING EXIT POLL AT THE BYE-ELECTION TO THE TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FROM 219. SANKARANKOVIL (SC) ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCY

No. SRO G-9/2012.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 6th March 2012 is republished:—

No.576/EXIT/2012/SDR/BYE-LA&HP).—In exercise of the powers under sub-section (1) of Section 126A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, and having regard to the provisions of clause (b) of sub-section (2) of the said Section, the Commission hereby notifies the period between 8 A.M. on 17th March 2012 (Saturday), *i.e.* the day of poll in 85. Piravom Assembly Constituency in Kerala and 5.30 P.M. on 18th March 2012 (Sunday) *i.e.*, the day of poll in 15. Udupi Chikmagalur Parliamentary Constituency in Karnataka and 07. Adilabad, 16. Kamareddy, 74. Mahbubnagar, 81. Nagerkurnool, 85. Kollapur, 99. Ghanpur (Station) (SC) and 235. Kovur Assembly Constituencies in Andhra Pradesh, 84. Mansa Assembly Constituency in Gujarat, 219. Sankarankovil (SC) Assembly Constituency in Tamil Nadu and 89. Athagarh Assembly Constituency in Odisha, as the period during which conducting any exit poll or disseminating in any manner whatsoever, the result of any exit poll in connection with the bye-elections announced *vide* the Commission's Press Note dated: 16th February 2012 and 22nd February 2012 would be prohibited.

It is further clarified that under Section 126(1)(b) of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, displaying any election matter including results of any opinion poll or any other poll survey, in any electronic media, would be prohibited during the period of 48 hours ending with the hour fixed for conclusion of poll in respect of each of the said bye-elections, in connection with aforesaid bye-elections.

(By Order)

ASHISH CHAKRABORTY, Secretary, Election Commission of India.

PRAVEEN KUMAR,

Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 12th March 2012.