

[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14.

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 61]

CHENNAI, THURSDAY, MARCH 8, 2012 Maasi 25, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2043

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India

DIRECTION BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

ELECTION COMMISSION'S DIRECTION SPECIFYING THAT THE VOTES AT THE BYE-ELECTION TO THE TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FROM 219. SANKARANKOVIL (SC) ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCY SHALL BE GIVEN AND RECORDED BY MEANS OF VOTING MACHINES.

No. SRO G-7/2012.

The following Direction of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 6th March, 2012 is published:—

No. 576/3/EVM/2012/SDR(Bye-LA).—Whereas, Section 61A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, provides that the giving and recording of votes by Voting Machines in such manner as may be prescribed, may be adopted in such constituencies as the Election Commission of India may, having regard to the circumstances of each case specify; and

- 2. Whereas, the Commission has considered the circumstances in 07-Adilabad, 16-Kamareddy, 74-Mahbubnagar, 81-Nagarkurnool, 85-Kollapur, 99-Ghanpur (Station) (SC) and 235-Kovur Assembly Constituencies in Andhra Pradesh, 84-Mansa Assembly Constituency in Gujarat, 85-Piravom Assembly Constituency in Kerala, 219-Sankarankovil (SC) Assembly Constituency in Tamil Nadu and 89-Athagarh Assembly Constituency in Odisha, and is satisfied that sufficient number of Electronic Voting Machines are available for taking the poll in the abovementioned Assembly Constituencies, the polling personnel are well trained in efficient handling of the Electronic Voting Machines and the electors are also fully conversant with the operation of the Electronic Voting Machines;
- 3. Now, therefore, the Election Commission of India hereby specifies 07-Adilabad, 16-Kamareddy, 74-Mahbubnagar, 81-Nagarkurnool, 85-Kollapur, 99-Ghanpur (Station) (SC) and 235-Kovur Assembly Constituencies in Andhra Pradesh, 84-Mansa Assembly Constituency in Gujarat, 85-Piravom Assembly Constituency in Kerala,

219-Sankarankovil (SC) Assembly Constituency in Tamil Nadu and 89-Athagarh Assembly Constituency in Odisha, as the constituencies in which the votes at the current bye-elections to the Legislative Assemblies of the said States / UT, notified on 22nd February, 2012, shall be given and recorded by means of Electronic Voting Machines in the manner prescribed under the Conduct of Elections Rules, 1961, and the supplementary instructions issued by the Commission from time to time on the subject.

(By Order)

ASHISH CHAKRABORTY, Secretary, Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 8th March, 2012. PRAVEEN KUMAR,

Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.