© GOVERNMENT OF TAMIL NADU 2012

[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14. [R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



# TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

**EXTRAORDINARY** PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 331]

CHENNAI, THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 29, 2012 Karthigai 14, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2043

# Part II—Section 2

Notifications or Orders of interest to a section of the public issued by Secretariat Departments.

## NOTIFICATIONS BY GOVERNMENT

### HIGHER EDUCATION DEPARTMENT

CONSTITUTION OF SYNDICATE AND NOMINATION OF MEMBERS AS PER THE ANNA UNIVERSITY ACT, 1978 (TAMIL NADU ACT 30 OF 1978), (TAMIL NADU ACT 20 OF 2011.)

[G.O. Ms. No. 225, Higher Education (I-1), 29th November 2012, Karthigai 14, Thiruvalluvar Aandu 2043.]

#### No. II(2)/HE/795(c)/2012.

Under Section 17 of the Anna University Act, 1978 (Tamil Nadu Act 30 of 1978) the Syndicate of Anna University is constituted with the following members:—

The Vice-Chancellor - Ex-officio Chairman of the Syndicate.

#### Class I - Ex-officio Members

- (a) The Secretary to Government, in-charge of Higher Education;
- (b) The Secretary to Government, in-charge of Industries;
- (c) The Secretary to Government, in-charge of Information Technology;
- (d) The Secretary to Government, in-charge of Law; and
- (e) The Director of Technical Education.

#### **Class II – Other Members**

(c) One member representing Industries, Public and Private Sectors nominated by the Government;

Thiru B.Santhanam, Managing Director, Saint Gobain Glass India Limited.

(d) One member representing Research Institutions having special knowledge and practical experience in Industry and Commerce, nominated by the Government;

Dr. Karumuthu T.Kannan, Thiyagarajar Engineering College, Madurai.

- (e) Two members from among the Principals of the affiliated colleges nominated by the Government;
  - Dr.S.Kuppusamy, Kongu Engineering College, Perundurai.
  - Dr. V.Lakshmi Prabha, Government Engineering College, Coimbatore.

(f) Two members from the management of the affiliated engineering colleges (aided and self-financing), nominated by the Government;

- Tmt. S.Malarvizhi, Managing Trustee, Sri Krishna College of Engineering & Technology, Coimbatore-8.
- Thiru M.V.Muthuramalingam, Chairman, Velammal Engineering College, Madurai-9.

2. The nomination of members as per clauses (a), (b) and (g) of Class II - other members under sub-section (2) of Section 17 of the said Act will be issued separately.

3. As per clause (a) of sub-section (5) of Section 17 of the said Act, the members of the Syndicate, other than the *ex-officio* members, shall hold office for a period of three years.

T.S.SRIDHAR, Additional Chief Secretary to Government.

2