[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14.

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 304]

CHENNAI, THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 2012 Aippasi 16, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2043

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India

PUBLIC (ELECTIONS) DEPARTMENT

EXTENSION OF PERIOD FOR FILING OF CLAIMS AND OBJECTIONS IN THE CONSTITUENCIES OF THE TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

No. SRO G-39/2012.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 31st October, 2012. [9, Kartika 1934 (Saka)] is republished:—

No. 23/ERS/2012-Vol III: Whereas, the Commission had announced the schedule for Special Summary Revision of electoral rolls with reference to 1st January 2013 as the qualifying date in the State/UTs of Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Arunanchal Pradesh, Bihar, Chandigarh, Chhattisgarh, Goa, Haryana, Jammu and Kashmir, Jarkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Lakshadweep, Maharashtra, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland, Odisha, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh *vide* its letter No.23/2012-ERS Vol.III, dated 27th August 2012; and

Whereas, the period of filing claims and objections was originally fixed from 1st October 2012 to 31st October 2012; and

Whereas, the draft rolls were published on 1st October 2012 in the aforesaid States/UTs (in Karnataka for 176ACs); and

Whereas, many Chief Electoral Officers have requested for extension of the period of filing claims and objections citing various reasons, like, heavy rainfall in October, a number of public holidays and festivals falling in between the aforesaid period, and the Commission having reviewed the progress has found that adequate number of Forms 6 and other Forms have not been received; and

Whereas, the Commission has considered the matter and has decided that the period of filing claims and objections should be extended from 31st October 2012 to 20th November, 2012;

Now, therefore, the Commission, in exercise of the power conferred by proviso to Rule 12 of the Registration of Electors Rules, 1960, extends, for all Assembly Constituencies in the State of Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Goa, Haryana, Jammu and Kashmir, Jarkhand, Kerala, Maharashtra, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland, Odisha, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand and Uttar Paradesh and 176 ACs of Karnataka and the entire PC of Chandigarh, Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Lakshadweep, the period for filing claims and objections upto 20th November 2012 (Tuesday) for the ongoing Special Summary Revision of electoral rolls with reference to 1st January 2013 as the qualifying date.

(By Order)

R.K. SRIVASTAVA,

Principal Secretary,

Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 1st November 2012. PRAVEEN KUMAR,

Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.