[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14.

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 240]

CHENNAI, FRIDAY, AUGUST 31, 2012 Aavani 15, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2043

Part II—Section 2

Notifications or Orders of interest to a section of the public issued by Secretariat Departments.

NOTIFICATIONS BY GOVERNMENT

BACKWARD CLASSES, MOST BACKWARD CLASSES AND MINORITIES WELFARE DEPARTMENT

APPOINTMENT OF CERTAIN PERSONS AS MEMBERS IN THE TAMIL NADU WAKF BOARD UNDER THE WAKF ACT.

[G.O. 2D. No. 28, Backward Classes, Most Backward Classes and Minorities Welfare (T1), 31st August 2012.]

No. II(2)/BCMBCMW/548(c)/2012.

In the Government Order first read above, the Government having examined the issue of filling up of vacancies in each category in greater detail and in exercise of the powers conferred by Section 14(1)(b), (c), (d) and (e) of the Wakf Act, 1995 (Central Act 43 of 1995) the Government constituted the Tamil Nadu Wakf Board as per Wakf Act, 1995, (Central Act 43 of 1995) and notified the appointment of the following 9 members:—

Member of Parliament:

- 1. Thiru J.M. Aaron Rashid
- 2. Thiru S. Amir Ali Jinnah

Member of Legislative Assembly:

- 1. Thiru Mohammedjan
- 2. Thiru S. Abdul Rahim

Eminent Muslim Organisation:

- 1. Thiru A. Tamizhmahan Hussain
- 2. Thiru S.A. Farooq

Scholars in Islamic Theology

- 1. Thiru Salahuddin Md.Ayub
- 2. Thiru Ghulam Mohammed Mehdi Khan

State Government Nominee:

Thiru Mohammed Nasimuddin, I.A.S.,

- 2. It has also been ordered therein that two vacancies arisen in Bar Council as well as two vacancies in Mutawalli Categories will be filled up by notifying and conducting the election as per sub-section (2) of Section 14 of the Wakf Act. 1995 (Central Act 43 of 1995).
- 3. Accordingly, the Bar Council Members and Mutawallis election was held on 29.08.2012 by secret ballot as per the procedure prescribed and counting of votes was completed on 30.08.2012. Under rule 20 of the Tamil Nadu Wakf Board (Conduct of Election for Members) Rules, 1997 the Returning Officer has declared the following as elected members and also given certificates of election under 21 of the said rules and accordingly, under sub-clauses (iii) and (iv) of clause (b) of sub-section (1) and sub-section (9) of Section 14 of the Wakf Act 1995 (central Act 43 of 1995) the Governor of Tamil Nadu hereby appoints the following persons as members of the Tamil Nadu Wakf Board.

Bar Council Members:

- 1. Ms. A.S. Bibi John
- 2. Thiru M.K. Khan

Mutawallis

- 1. Thiru M. Mohammed Sikkandar
- 2. Dr. Haja K. Majeed
- 4. The term of office for members of the Board shall be for a period of five years from the date of issue of the notification.
- 5. The Chief Executive Officer, Tamil Nadu Wakf Board, Chennai-1 is requested to take necessary action to convene the first meeting of the Board for electing the Chiarperson under Section 14(8) of the Wakf Act, 1995 (Central Act 43 of 1995).
- 6. The Notification appended to this order will be published in an Extraordinary issue of the *Tamil Nadu Government Gazette*, 31st day of August 2012.

APPENDIX

Under sub-clauses (iii) and (iv) of clause (b) of sub-section (1) and sub-section (9) of Section 14 of the Wakf Act, 1995 (Central Act 43 of 1995), the Governor of Tamil Nadu hereby appoints the following persons as Members of the Tamil Nadu Wakf Board:—

Bar Council Members:—

- 1. Ms. A.S. Bibi John; and
- 2. Thiru M.K. Khan

Mutawallis:-

- 1. Thiru M. Mohammed Sikkander; and
- 2. Dr. Haja, K. Majeed

THANGA KALIYAPERUMAL, Secretary to Government.