

[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14.

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 150]

CHENNAI, TUESDAY, JUNE 5, 2012 Vaikasi 23, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2043

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India

NOTIFICATIONS BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

ELECTION COMMISSION'S NOTIFICATION REGARDING EXIT POLL AT THE BYE-ELECTION TO THE TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FROM 180. PUDUKKOTTAI ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCY.

No. SRO G-17/2012.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 29th May, 2012 is published:—

No. 576/EXIT/2012/SDR(BYE-LA&HP).—In exercise of the powers under sub-section (1) of Section 126A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, and having regard to the provisions of clause (b) of sub-section (2) of the said Section, the Commission hereby notifies the period between 8 A.M. and 5.30 P.M. on 12th June 2012 (Tuesday), as the period during which conducting any exit poll or disseminating in any manner whatsoever, the result of any exit poll in connection with the current bye-elections announced *vide* the Commission's Press Note dated 24th April, 2012 from 39-Nellore Parliamentary Constituency, 286-Tirupati, 253-Allagadda, 244-Rajampet, 247-Rayachoti, 104-Parkal, 227-Ongole, 127-Narasannapeta, 152-Payakaraopet (SC), 272-Anantapur Urban, 263-Yemmiganur, 267-Rayadurg, 246-Kodur (SC), 242-Udayagiri, 177-Narasapuram, 212-Prathipadu (SC), 161-Ramachandrapuram, 220-Macherla & 186-Polavaram (ST) Assembly Constituencies in Andhra Pradesh and 183-Maheshwar (SC) Assembly Constituency in Madhya Pradesh, 20-Nalchar (SC) Assembly Constituency in Tripura, 230-Daspur & 252-Bankura Assembly Constituencies in West Bengal, 82-Mant Assembly Constituency in Uttar Pradesh, 180-Pudukkottai Assembly Constituency in Tamil Nadu, 232-Kaij(SC) Assembly Constituency in Maharashtra and 64-Hatia Assembly Constituency in Jharkhand, would be prohibited.

It is further clarified that under Section 126(1)(b) of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, displaying any election matter including results of any opinion poll or any other poll survey, in any electronic media, would be prohibited during the period of 48 hours ending with the hour fixed for conclusion of poll in respect of each of the aforesaid bye-elections.

(By Order)

ASHISH CHAKRABORTY, Secretary, Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 5th June 2012. PRAVEEN KUMAR,
Chief Electoral Officer and
Principal Secretary to Government,
Public (Elections) Department.