[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14.

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 141]

CHENNAI, WEDNESDAY, MAY 30, 2012 Vaikasi 17, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2043

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India

DIRECTION BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

ELECTION COMMISSION'S DIRECTION SPECIFYING THAT THE VOTES AT THE BYE-ELECTION TO THE TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FROM 180. PUDUKKOTTAI ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCY SHALL BE GIVEN AND RECORDED BY MEANS OF VOTING MACHINES.

No. SRO G-15/2012.

The following Direction of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 24th May 2012 is published:—

No. 576/3/EVM/2012/SDR(Bye-LA).—Whereas, Section 61A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, provides that the giving and recording of votes by Voting Machines in such manner as may be prescribed, may be adopted in such constituencies as the Election Commission of India may, having regard to the circumstances of each case specify; and

2. Whereas, the Commission has considered the circumstances in 183-Maheshwar (SC) Assembly Constituency in Madhya Pradesh, 21-Nalchar (SC) Assembly Constituency in Tripura, 230-Daspur and 252-Bankura Assembly Constituencies in West Bengal, 82-Mant Assembly Constituency in Uttar Pradesh, 180-Pudukkottai Assembly Constituency in Tamil Nadu, 286-Tirupati, 253-Allagadda, 244-Rajampet, 247-Rayachoti, 104-Parkal, 227-Ongole, 127-Narasannapeta, 152-Payakaraopet (SC), 272-Anantapur Urban, 263-Yemmiganur, 267-Rayadurg, 246-Kodur (SC), 242-Udayagiri, 177-Narasapuram, 212-Prathipadu (SC), 161-Ramachandrapuram, 220-Macherla and 186-Polavaram (ST) Assembly Constituencies in Andhra Pradesh, 232-Kaij (SC) Assembly Constituency in Maharashtra and 64-Hatia Assembly Constituency in Jharkhand and is satisfied that sufficient number of Electronic Voting Machines are available for taking the poll in the abovementioned Assembly Constituencies, the polling personnel are well trained in efficient handling of the Electronic Voting Machines and the electors are also fully conversant with the operation of the Electronic Voting Machines;

3. Now, therefore, the Election Commission of India hereby specifies 183-Maheshwar (SC) Assembly Constituency in Madhya Pradesh, 21-Nalchar (SC) Assembly Constituency in Tripura, 230-Daspur and 252-Bankura Assembly Constituencies in West Bengal, 82-Mant Assembly Constituency in Uttar Pradesh, 180-Pudukkottai Assembly Constituency in Tamil Nadu, 286-Triupati, 253-Allagadda, 244-Rajampet, 247-Rayachoti, 104-Parkal, 227-Ongole, 127-Narasannapeta, 152-Payakaraopet (SC), 272-Anantapur Urban, 263-Yemmiganur, 267-Rayadurg, 246-Kodur (SC), 242-Udayagiri, 177-Narasapuram, 212-Prathipadu (SC), 161-Ramachandrapuram, 220-Macherla and 186-Polavaram (ST) Assembly Constituencies in Andhra Pradesh, 232-Kaij (SC) Assembly Constituency in Maharashtra and 64-Hatia Assembly Constituency in Jharkhand, as the constituencies in which the votes at the current bye-elections to the Legislative Assemblies of the said States, notified on 18th May 2012, shall be given and recorded by means of Electronic Voting Machines in the manner prescribed under the Conduct of Elections Rules, 1961, and the supplementary instructions issued by the Commission from time to time on the subject.

(By Order)

ASHISH CHAKRABORTY, Secretary, Election Commission of India.

ariat, Ch

PRAVEEN KUMAR,
Chief Electoral Officer and
Principal Secretary to Government,
Public (Elections) Department.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 30th May 2012.