

[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14.

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 130]

CHENNAI, FRIDAY, MAY 18, 2012 Vaikasi 5, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2043

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India

NOTIFICATIONS BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

APPOINTMENT OF DATES FOR VARIOUS STAGES OF BYE-ELECTION TO TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FROM 180. PUDUKKOTTAI ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCY AND FIXATION OF HOURS OF POLL TO FILL A VACANCY CAUSED BY THE DEATH OF A MEMBER.

No. SRO G-13/2012.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 18th May, 2012 [28 Vaisakha, 1934 (Saka)] is published:—

No.100/TN-LA/2/2012.—Whereas, the seat of Shri. P. Muthukumaran, in the Legislative Assembly of the Tamil Nadu State, elected from 180-Pudukkottai Assembly Constituency has become vacant on 1st April 2012, by reason of his death; and

- 2. Whereas, a bye-election is to be held for the purpose of filling the vacancy so caused.
- 3. **Now, therefore,** in pursuance of sub-section (1) of Section 150, 30 and 56 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951), the Election Commission of India hereby:—
- **(A) Calls upon** the 180—Pudukkottai Assembly Constituency in the State of Tamil Nadu to elect, before the 18th June, 2012 (Monday) and in accordance with the provisions of the said Act and of the rules and orders made thereunder, a person, for the purpose of filling the said vacancy in the Legislative Assembly of the State; and
 - (B) Appoints, with respect to the said election.—
 - (a) the 25-05-2012, (Friday) as the last date for making nominations.
 - (b) the 26-05-2012, (Saturday) as the date for the scrutiny of nominations.
 - (c) the 28-05-2012, (Monday) as the last date for withdrawal of candidatures;

- (d) the 12-06-2012, (Tuesday) as the date, on which a poll shall, if necessary, be taken;
- (e) the 18-06-2012, (Monday) as the date before which the election shall be completed; and
- **(C)** Fixes the hours from 8.00 A.M. to 5.00 P.M. as the hours during which the poll shall if necessary, be taken on the date specified above, for the election.

(By Order)

R.K. SRIVASTAVA, Principal Secretary, Election Commission of India.

PRAVEEN KUMAR,

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 18th May 2012. Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.