

[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2009-11.

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Rs. 1.60 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 96]

CHENNAI, FRIDAY, MARCH 11, 2011 Maasi 27, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2042

Part II—Section 2

Notifications or Orders of interest to a section of the public issued by Secretariat Departments.

NOTIFICATIONS BY GOVERNMENT

INDUSTRIES DEPARTMENT

Secretariat, 11th March 2011

CONSTITUTION OF STATE LEVEL MONITORING COMMITTEE.

No. II(2)/IND/110(a)/2011.

[W.P.(MD) No.11562/2010 – M.P.No.1 of 2011 in W.P.(MD)No.11562/2010 filed by Secretary to Government against the order of the Madurai Bench of Madras High Court, dated 02-12-2010 – Order of the High Court, Madras, dated 15-02-2011 – Constitution of State Level Monitoring Committee – Orders issued.]

The following Government Order is Published:—

[G.O. Ms. No. 79, Industries (MMC-1), 11th March 2011.]

READ:

- (1) Order of the Madurai Bench of Madras High Court, dated 02-12-2010 in W.P.11182/2010, etc. (batch cases).
- (2) Order of the Madurai Bench of Madras High Court, dated 22-12-2010 in W.P.11182/2010, etc. (batch cases).
- (3) Order of the Madras High Court, dated 15-02-2011 in review application No. 15 of 2011 in W.P.(MD) No. 11562 of 2011.

ORDER: No. 79, Industries (MMC-1), 11th March 2011.

The Madurai Bench of the Madras High Court in its order 1st read above has ordered in para 87 of the judgement that the State Level Monitoring Committee should be constituted for the purpose of monitoring the adherence of the directions issued in its order, dated 02-12-2010 and Tamil Nadu Minor Mineral Concession Rules, 1959. In the High Court Order 3rd read above has modified the State Level Monitoring Committee as follows:—

Chairman .. The Hon'ble Mr. Justice

E. Padmanabhan, Judge (Retd.),

High Court, Madras,

No.11, Madha Church Road,

Mandavelipakkam, Chennai – 600 028. Phone: 044-2464 1845 044-2461 6003

Administrative Officer

.. To be nominated by the Government in the cadre of Under Secretary to Government for Co-ordinating with the Chairman in the Administration of the

Committee.

Members

.. (1) Mr. A.S. Kannan,
District Judge (Retd.)
"Gokulam"
No.4, GRC,
Chandrakanthi Nagar,

Sowripalayam Post, Coimbatore – 28 Phone: 94426 19197

(2) Dr. R. Nagendran, (Environmentalist), Professor, Centre for Environmental Studies, Anna University, Chennai

Phone: 98412 73080 044- 2490 2080.

(3) Dr. N.G. Anuthaman (Geologist). Asst. Professor, Centre for Water Resources, Anna University, Chennai Phone 98409 94542

- 2. The tenure of the Committee shall be initially for a period of two years. The Chairman shall be paid remuneration of Rs.75,000/- per month . The District Judge (Retd.)shall be full time member and assist the Chairman in the administration of the Committee and the District Judge (Retd.)shall be paid honorarium of Rs.25,000/- per month. Insofar as the members Environmentalist /Geologist, the Committee shall avail their services on need basis and they shall be paid honorarium on the service extended by them but not exceeding Rs.25,000/- per month. Adequate police protection has to be given to the Committee while visiting the sites to ensure effective monitoring.
- 3. After granting permission for sand quarrying in any river or tributary in the State of Tamil Nadu, the respective District Collectors shall forward a copy of the preliminary report submitted by the Inspecting team along with the copy of the proceedings permitting sand quarrying to the State Level Monitoring Committee. The Committee shall monitor that the sand quarrying is done in accordance with the Tamil Nadu Minor Mineral Concession Rules and in compliance with the terms and conditions of the permission granted and the directions issued in this order.
- 4. The committee shall monitor whether sand quarrying is done in a scientific and skilful manner. The committee shall have the power to check the transport permits issued. The Committee shall also verify the accounting procedure and the quantum of load put up to the lorries.
- 5. Any persons having grievance about illegal quarrying /excessive quarrying /non-compliance of Tamil Nadu Minor Mineral Concession Rules/ other directions shall prefer complaint before the committee and the Committee shall look into the same and shall make enquiry and shall communicate with the District Collector and the Public Works Department to redress the grievance.
- 6. Insofar as Vaipar and Palar, pursuant to the orders of the Court, already committees have been constituted to monitor the sand quarrying. Insofar as Vaipar and Palar is concerned, the State Level Monitoring Committee shall function in coordination with those committees already constituted.

- 7. Any deviation of procedure/rule is to be brought to the notice of the District Collector for taking appropriate action. In case of inaction of the District Administration, the Committee shall bring it to the notice of the Court by filing appropriate report.
- 8. The Government has examined the case and decided to comply the Orders of the High Court first to third read above and accordingly, the State Level Monitoring Committee is constituted as below:—

(i) Chairman .. Justice E. Padmanabhan, (Retd.) Judge,

High Court of Madras.

(ii) Administrative Officer .. In the rank of Under Secretary to Government

(orders will be issued separately).

(iii) Members :-

Mr. A.S. Kannan,
 District Judge (Retd.),DTP—II-2 Ex. (85)
 "Gokulam"
 No.4, GRC,
 Chandrakanthi Nagar,
 Sowripalayam Post,
 Coimbatore – 28

(2) Dr. R. Nagendran (Environmentalist), Professor, Centre for Environmental Studies, Anna University, Chennai Phone: 98412 73080

044- 2490 2080.

Phone: 94426 19197

(3) Dr. N.G. Anuthaman (Geologist), Asst. Professor, Centre for Water Resources, Anna University, Chennai

Phone: 98409 94542.

The Commissioner of Geology and Mining has been requested to send necessary proposal in consultation with Justice E. Padmanabhan, Judge (Retired) High Court of Madras, in connection with the infrastructure facilities, office space, office staff with necessary amenities, financial requirements etc., within 15 days.

(By Order of the Governor)

RAJEEV RANJAN
Principal Secretary to Government.