©
GOVERNMENT OF TAMIL NADU
2011

[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2009-11.

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 422]

CHENNAI, WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 9, 2011 Aippasi 23, Thiruvalluvar Aandu-2042

Part VI—Section 2

Notifications or Orders of interest to a section of the public issued by Heads of Departments, etc.

NOTIFICATIONS BY HEADS OF DEPARTMENTS, ETC.

TAMIL NADU STATE ELECTION COMMISSION, CHENNAI.

[ELECTIONS—ORDINARY ELECTIONS—CORPORATION, MUNICIPALITY AND TOWN PANCHAYATS—COUNCILLOR / WARD MEMBER AND CHAIRMEN—DEATH OF CANDIDATES SET UP BY RECOGNISED POLITICAL PARTIES—ADJOURNED—FRESH NOTIFICATION—ISSUED—REGARDING.]

(S.O. No. 114/2011/TNSEC/ME-1.)

No. VI(2)/559(a)/2011.

Whereas, the ordinary election to fill up the offices of the Councillor of Ward No. 15 of Madurai City Municipal Corporation, Chairman of Vellakoil Municipality, Tiruppur District, Chairman of Karumathampatty Town Panchayat, Coimbatore District and Ward Member of Ward No. 7 of Ezhudesam Town Panchayat, Kanniyakumari District, were *inter-alia* notified to be held in accordance with the programme of election fixed in the notification of the Tamil Nadu State Election Commission published with S.O. No. 45/2011/TNSEC/ME-1, dated 21st September 2011.

Whereas, the District Election Officers/District Collectors of Coimbatore, Kanniyakumari, Tiruppur and the Returning Officer/Commissioner, Madurai City Municipal Corporation have reported that due to the death of candidates of the respective Corporation, Municipality and Town Panchayats, as the case may be, the election to fill up the said offices have been postponed as per rule 34(1)(c) of the Tamil Nadu Town Panchayats, Third Grade Municipalities, Municipalities and Corporations (Elections) Rules, 2006.

Whereas, after taking all material circumstances into account and in pursuance of rule 34 of Tamil Nadu Town Panchayats, Third Grade Municipalities, Municipalities and Corporations (Elections) Rules, 2006, the Tamil Nadu State Election Commission has considered necessary to commence the election process afresh to the respective Corporation, Municipality and Town Panchayats.

Now, therefore, in exercise of the powers conferred under sub-section (1) of Section 43-B of the Tamil Nadu District Municipalities Act, 1920 (Tamil Nadu Act V of 1920), sub-section (1) of Section 10(D) of the Madurai City Municipal Corporation Act, 1971 (Tamil Nadu Act XV of 1971) and rule 22 of Tamil Nadu Town Panchayats, Third Grade Municipalities, Municipalities and Corporations (Elections) Rules, 2006, the Tamil Nadu State Election Commission, for the purpose of filling up of ordinary vacancies in the offices of the Councillor / Ward Member and Chairmen of Corporation, Municipality and Town Panchayats, specified in the Table annexed to this Notification, hereby calls upon the electors of the said wards to elect their respective Councillor/Ward Member and Chairmen of Corporation, Municipality and Town Panchayats, in accordance with the following programme of election:—

PROGRAMME OF ELECTION

1.	Publication of public notice of election and commencement of receipt of nominations	09-11-2011	11.00 a.m. to 3.00 p.m.
2.	Last date for making nominations	16-11-2011	
3.	Scrutiny of nominations	17-11-2011	11.00 a.m.
4.	Withdrawal of candidates	19-11-2011	Upto 3.00 p.m.
5.	Date of Poll	27-11-2011	7.00 a.m. to 5 p.m.
6.	Date of commencement of counting of votes	29-11-2011	8.00 a.m.
7.	Date before which the election shall be completed	30-11-2011	

(By Order of the Tamil Nadu State Election Commission)

Chennai-600 106, 8th November 2011. V.M. XAVIER CHRISSO NAYAGAM, Secretary, Tamil Nadu State Election Commission.

Annexure

THE TABLE

Corporation Councillor

SI. No.	Corporation	Ward No.		
(1)	(2)	(3)		
1	Madurai	15		
icipal Chairman				

Municipal Chairman

SI.No.	District	Municipality
(1)	(2)	(3)
1	Tiruppur	Vellakoil

Town Panchayat Chairman

SI.No.	District	Town Panchayat
(1)	(2)	(3)
1	Coimbatore	Karumathampatty

Town Panchayat Ward Member

SI.No.	District	Town Panchayat	Ward No.
(1)	(2)	(3)	(4)
1	Kanniyakumari	Ezhudesam	7

(By Order of the Tamil Nadu State Election Commission)

Chennai-600 106, 8th November 2011. V.M. XAVIER CHRISSO NAYAGAM, Secretary, Tamil Nadu State Election Commission.