[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2009-11.

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 420]

CHENNAI, TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 8, 2011 Aippasi 22, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2042

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India

PUBLIC (ELECTIONS) DEPARTMENT

EXTENSION OF PERIOD FOR FILING OF CLAIMS AND OBJECTIONS IN THE CONSTITUENCIES OF THE TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

No. SRO G-31/2011.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, New Delhi, dated 8th November, 2011 [Kartika 17, 1933 (Saka)] is published:—

No. 23/TN/2012.—Whereas, the Commission had approved the schedule for special summary revision of electoral rolls with reference to 1st January, 2012 as the qualifying date for the State of Tamil Nadu, *vide* its letter No. 23/TN/2012/989, dated 12th September, 2011 providing inter-alia, 24th October, 2011 as the date of draft publication and the period 24th October, 2011 to 8th November, 2011 for filing claims and objections; and

Whereas, the Commission has further received a request from Chief Electoral Officer-Tamil Nadu *vide* his letter dated 6th November, 2011 for extension of period for filing claims and objections in view of a number of festivals (holidays) falling within the aforesaid period and severe rains etc., resulting in loss of working days for revison process. The Chief Electoral Officer-Tamil Nadu requested to extend campaign period for filing claims/objections; and

Whereas, the Commission has considered it and has accepted the aforesaid request;

Now, therefore, the Election Commission, in exercise of power conferred by proviso to Rule 12 of Registration of Electors Rules 1960, extends, for all Assembly Constituencies in State of Tamil Nadu, the period for filing claims and objections up to 11th November, 2011 (Friday), for ongoing special revision of electoral roll with reference to 1st January, 2012. The disposal of claims/objections will commence from 12th November, 2011 and other schedules of revision process will remain unchanged.

(By Order)

TAPAS KUMAR, Principal Secretary, Election Commission of India.

PRAVEEN KUMAR,

Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 8th November 2011.