[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2009-11.

[R.Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 394]

CHENNAI, TUESDAY, OCTOBER 18, 2011 Aippasi 1, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2042

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India.

NOTIFICATIONS BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

APPOINTMENT OF DATES FOR VARIOUS STAGES OF BYE-ELECTION TO TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FROM 140. TIRUCHIRAPPALLI (WEST) ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCY AND FIXATION OF HOURS OF POLL TO FILL A VACANCY CAUSED BY THE DEATH OF A MEMBER.

No. SRO G-30/2011.

The following notification of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 17th October, 2011 [27 Asvina, 1933 (Saka)] is published:—

No. 100/TN-LA/1/2011.—Whereas, the Commission, *vide* its notification, No. 100/TN-LA/1/2011 dated 19th September, 2011 had, *inter alia*, specified 19th October, 2011 (Wednesday), as the date before which, the bye-election to the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly from 140. Tiruchirappalli (West) Assembly Constituency shall be completed; and

Whereas, the Commission has received a request from Tamil Nadu State Election Commission to postpone date of counting from 17th October, 2011 to another date, in view of Local Body elections scheduled to be held in the state on 17th and 19th October, 2011; and

Whereas, the Commission has considered the request and decided that counting of votes for the said bye-election to Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly from 140.Tiruchirappalli (West) Assembly Constituency shall, now be held on 20th October, 2011;

Now, therefore, in exercise of powers conferred by Section 153 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, the Election Commission hereby makes the following amendment in its notification No. 100/TN-LA/1/2011 dated 19th September, 2011, namely:—

The existing entry appearing in Para 3 (B) (e) shall be replaced by the entry 'the 24th October, 2011 (Monday) as the date before which, the election shall be completed'.

(By Order)

R.K. SRIVASTAVA, Principal Secretary, Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 18th October, 2011.

PRAVEEN KUMAR,

Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.