[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2009-11.

[R.Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



# TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

**EXTRAORDINARY** 

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 381]

CHENNAI, FRIDAY, OCTOBER 7, 2011 Purattasi 20, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2042

## Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India.

#### **DIRECTION BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA**

ELECTION COMMISSION'S DIRECTION SPECIFYING THAT THE VOTES AT THE BYE-ELECTION TO THE TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FROM 140. TIRUCHIRAPPALLI (WEST) ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCY SHALL BE GIVEN AND RECORDED BY MEANS OF VOTING MACHINES.

### No. SRO G-28/2011.

The following Direction of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 29th September, 2011 is published:—

- No. 576/3/EVM/2011/SDR(Bye):—Whereas, Section 61A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, provides that the giving and recording of votes by Voting Machines in such manner as may be prescribed, may be adopted in such constituencies as the Election Commission of India may, having regard to the circumstances of each case specify; and
- 2. Whereas, the Commission has considered the circumstances in 140-Tiruchirappalli (West) Assembly Constituency in Tamil Nadu, 14-Banswada Assembly Constituency in Andhra Pradesh, 08-Indira Nagar Assembly Constituency in Puducherry, 211-Khadakwasala Assembly Constituency in Maharashtra and 109-Daraunda Assembly Constituency in Bihar and is satisfied that sufficient number of Electronic Voting Machines are available for taking the poll in the abovementioned Assembly Constituencies, the polling personnel are well trained in efficient handling of the Electronic Voting Machines and the electors are also fully conversant with the operation of the Electronic Voting Machines;
- 3. Now, therefore, the Election Commission of India hereby specifies 140-Tiruchirappalli (West) Assembly Constituency in Tamil Nadu, 14-Banswada Assembly Constituency in Andhra Pradesh, 08-Indira Nagar Assembly Constituency in Puducherry, 211-Khadakwasala Assembly Constituency in Maharashtra and 109-Daraunda Assembly Constituency in Bihar, as the constituencies in which the votes at the current bye-elections to the Legislative Assemblies of the said States / UT, notified on 19th September 2011, shall be given and recorded by means of Electronic Voting Machines in the manner prescribed under the Conduct of Elections Rules, 1961, and the supplementary instructions issued by the Commission from time to time on the subject.

(By Order)

ASHISH CHAKRABORTY, Secretary, Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 7th October 2011.

#### PRAVEEN KUMAR.

Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.