[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2009-11.

[R.Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



# TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

**EXTRAORDINARY** 

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 379]

CHENNAI, TUESDAY, OCTOBER 4, 2011 Purattasi 17, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2042

## Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India.

#### NOTIFICATION BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

ELECTION COMMISSION'S NOTIFICATION REGARDING EXIT POLL AT THE BYE-ELECTION TO THE TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FROM 140. TIRUCHIRAPPALLI (WEST) ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCY.

### No. SRO G-26/2011.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 30th September, 2011 is published:—

No. 576/EXIT/2011/SDR.—In exercise of the powers under sub-section (1) of Section 126A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, and having regard to the provisions of clause (b) of sub-section (2) of the said Section, the Commission hereby notifies the period between 8.00 A.M. and 5.30 P.M. on 13-10-2011 (Thursday), as the period during which conducting any exit poll or disseminating in any manner whatsoever, the result of any exit poll in connection with the bye-elections announced *vide* the Commission's Press Note dated 6-9-2011, from 140-Tiruchirappalli (West) Assembly Constituency in Tamil Nadu, 14-Banswada Assembly Constituency in Andhra Pradesh, 8-Indira Nagar Assembly Constituency in Puducherry, 211-Khadakwasala Assembly Constituency in Maharashtra and 109-Daraunda Assembly Constituency in Bihar would be prohibited.

It is further clarified that under Section 126(1)(b) of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, displaying any election matter including results of any opinion poll or any other poll survey, in any electronic media, would be prohibited during the period of 48 hours commencing from 5.00 P.M. on 11-10-2011, in connection with aforesaid bye-elections.

(By Order)

ASHISH CHAKRABORTY, Secretary, Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 4th October 2011.

#### PRAVEEN KUMAR,

Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.