GOVERNMENT OF TAMIL NADU 2011 [Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2009-11.

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 253]

CHENNAI, MONDAY, AUGUST 8, 2011 Aadi 23, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2042

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India

ORDER OF THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

DISQUALIFICATION OF A CANDIDATE CONTESTED FROM 14. KALLAKURUCHI, 31. SIVAGANGA, 36. THOOTHUKUDI PARLIAMENTARY CONSTITUENCY IN THE GENERAL ELECTIONS TO LOK SABHA HELD IN MAY, 2009 FOR FAILURE TO LODGE ACCOUNTS OF ELECTION EXPENSES UNDER SECTION 10A OF THE REPRESENTATION OF THE PEOPLE ACT, 1951.

No. SRO G-23/2011.

The following order of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 7th July, 2011 [16 Asadha, 1933 (Saka)] is republished:—

No. 76/TN-HP/2009.—Whereas, the Election Commission of India is satisfied that each of the contesting candidate specified in column 4 of the Table below at the General Election to the Lok Sabha, 2009 from the State of Tamil Nadu specified in column 2 and held from the constituency specified in column 3 against his/her name has failed to lodge the account of his/her election expenses as shown in column 5 of the said Table as required by the Representation of the People Act, 1951 and the Rules made thereunder;

And, whereas, the said candidates have either not furnished any reason or explanation for the said failure even after due notice by the Election Commission or after considering the representation made by them, if any, the Election Commission is satisfied that they have no good reason or justification for the said failure;

Now, therefore, in pursuance of Section 10A of the said Act, the Election Commission hereby declares the persons specified in column 4 of the Table below to be disqualified for being chosen as and for being a member of either house of Parliament or the Legislative Assembly or Legislative Council of a State of Union Territory for a period of three years from the date of this order:—

SI. No. (1)	Particulars of Election. (2)	SI.No. and Name of Parliament Constituency. (3)	Name and Address Contesting Candidate. (4)	Reasons for Disqualification. (5)
1	General Election to Lok Sabha, 2009.	14-Kallakurichi	Selvam, K. Nadu Street, Siruvangur and Post, Kallakurichi.	Failed to lodge any account of his election expenses.
2	General Election to Lok Sabha, 2009.	31-Sivaganga	Rajagopal, S., son of Shanmuga Thevar, 299, Agraharam, Karaiyur Village, Thiruppathur Taluk, Sivaganga District.	Failed to lodge any account of his election expenses.

SI. No. (1)	Particulars of Election. (2)	SI.No. and Name of Parliament Constituency. (3)	Name and Address Contesting Candidate. (4)	Reasons for Disqualification. (5)
3	General Election to Lok Sabha, 2009.	31-Sivaganga	Alangappan, PL., son of Palaniappan, 192, Rajaji Street, O. Siruvayal, Karaikudi Taluk, Sivaganga District.	Failed to lodge account of his election expenses within the stipulated time required by the law.
4	General Election to Lok Sabha, 2009.	36-Thoothukudi	Muthu, S., 24/19D, Mangalavahdi Street, Kayalapattinam.	Failed to lodge account of his election expenses within the stipulated time required by the law.
5	General Election to Lok Sabha, 2009.	36-Thoothukudi	Saravanan, S., 13/2, Violet Plot, Vellalar Street, Mugaperi, Chennai-37.	Failed to lodge account of his election expenses within the stipulated time required by the law.
6	General Election to Lok Sabha, 2009.	36-Thoothukudi	Raghupathi, S., 40/3, Osimasia Puram, Kulathur (Post), Vilathikulam.	Failed to lodge account of his election expenses within the stipulated time required by the law.

(By Order)

R.K. SRIVASTAVA, Principal Secretary, Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 8th August 2011. PRAVEEN KUMAR,

Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government.