[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2009-11. [R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



# TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

**EXTRAORDINARY** 

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 204]

CHENNAI, TUESDAY, JULY 5, 2011 Aani 20, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2042

# Part V—Section 4

# Notifications by the Election Commission of India

## NOTIFICATIONS BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA.

APPOINTMENT OF DATES FOR VARIOUS STAGES AND FIXATION OF HOURS OF POLL FOR BYE-ELECTION TO COUNCIL OF STATES TO FILL UP THE VACANCY CAUSED DUE TO RESIGNATION OF SITTING MEMBER, THIRU K.V. RAMALINGAM.

#### No. SRO/G-20/2011

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, New Delhi, dated the 5th July, 2011 [Asadha 14, 1933 (Saka)] is republished:—

No. 100/CS-TN/1/2011 (1):—Whereas, the seat of Shri K.V. Ramalingam in the Council of States, elected by the elected members of the Legislative Assembly of the State of Tamil Nadu, has become vacant on 20th May, 2011 by the reason of his resignation, before the expiration of his term of office which was up to and including the 29th June, 2016; and

Whereas a bye-election is to be held for the purpose of filling the vacancy so caused;

Now, Therefore in pursuance of Section 147, sub-section (1) of Section 39 and Section 56 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951), the Election Commission of India hereby—

- (A) Calls upon the elected members of the Legislative Assembly of the State of Tamil Nadu to elect, befoe 25th July, 2011 (Monday), and in accordance with the provisions of the said Act and of the rules and orders made thereunder, a person for the purpose of filling the said vacancy in the Council of States;
- (B) appoints, with respect to the said election:
  - (a) the 12th July, 2011 (Tuesday), as the last date for making nominations;
  - (b) the 13th July, 2011 (Wednesday), as the date for the scrutiny of the nominations;
  - (c) the 15th July 2011 (Friday), as the last date for the withdrawal of candidatures;
  - (d) the 22nd July 2011 (Friday), as the date on which a poll shall, if necessary, be taken; and
  - (e) the 25th July 2011 (Monday), as the date before which the election shall be completed; and
- (C) fixes the hours from 9.00 A.M. 4.00 P.M. as the hours during which the poll shall, if necessary, be taken on the date specified above for the election.

(By Order)

K. AJAY KUMAR, Principal secretary to the Election Commission of India.

PRAVEEN KUMAR, Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009. 5th July 2011.

[1]

DTP V-4 Ex. (204)

### APPOINTMENT OF RETURNING OFFICER AND ASSISTANT RETURNING OFFICER FOR BYE-ELECTION TO COUNCIL OF STATES TO FILL UP THE VACANCY CAUSED DUE TO RESIGNATION OF SITTING MEMBER, THIRU K.V. RAMALINGAM.

#### No. SRO/G-21/2011

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, New Delhi, dated 5th July 2011 [Asadha 14, 1933 (Saka)] is republished:—

**No.100/CS-TN/1/2011 (2):**—In pursuance of Section 21, and in exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (1) of Section 22, of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951), the Election Commission of India, in Consultation with the Government of the State of Tamil Nadu, hereby—

(i) designates the officer, specified in column (1) of the TABLE below, to be the Returning Officer; and

(ii) appoints the officer, specified in column (2) of the said Table, to be the Assistant Returning Officer to assist the Returning Officer in the performance of his functions;

in respect of the bye-election to the Council of states, to be held in that Sate in pursuance of the Commission's Notification, published in the Gazette of India on 5th July, 2011:---

TABLE

Officer Appointed as Assistant Returning Officer.

(2)

Deputy Secretary,

Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly

(By Order)

K. AJAY KUMAR, Principal secretary to the Election Commission of India.

PRAVEEN KUMAR, Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009. 5th July 2011.

Officer Deignated as Returning Officer.

(1)

Secretary, Tamil Nadu Legislative Assemby