[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2009-11. [R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



# TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

**EXTRAORDINARY** 

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 107]

CHENNAI, THURSDAY, MARCH 24, 2011 Panguni 10, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2042

## Part V—Section 4

### Notifications by the Election Commission of India

#### DIRECTION BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA.

ELECTION COMMISSION'S DIRECTION SPECIFYING THAT THE VOTES AT THE CURRENT GENERAL ELECTIONS TO TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY, 2011 SHALL BE GIVEN AND RECORDED BY MEANS OF ELECTRONIC VOTING MACHINES.

#### No. SRO G-14/2011.

The following Direction of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 14th March, 2011 is published:—

**No. 576/3/EVM/2011/SDR(LA).**—Whereas, Section 61A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, provides that the giving and recording of votes by voting machines in such manner as may be prescribed, may be adopted in such constituencies as the Election Commission of India may, having regard to the circumstances of each case specify; and

2. Whereas, the Commission has considered the circumstances in all the 126 Assembly Constituencies in Assam, 140 Assembly Constituencies in Kerala, 234 Assembly Constituencies in Tamil Nadu, 30 Assembly Constituencies in Puducherry and 294 Assembly Constituencies in West Bengal, and is satisfied that sufficient number of Electronic Voting Machines are available for taking the poll in the abovementioned Assembly Constituencies, the polling personnel are well trained in efficient handling of the Electronic Voting Machines and the electors are also fully conversant with the operation of the Electronic Voting Machines;

3. Now, therefore, the Election Commission of India hereby specifies all the 126 Assembly Constituencies in Assam, 140 Assembly Constituencies in Kerala, 234 Assembly Constituencies in Tamil Nadu, 30 Assembly Constituencies in Puducherry and 294 Assembly Constituencies in West Bengal, as the constituencies in which the votes at the current general elections to the Legislative Assemblies of the said States notified/to be notified on 10th March, 2011 and 18th March, 2011 in Assam, 19th March, 2011 in Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Puducherry and 24th March, 2011, 30th March, 2011, 2nd April, 2011, 7th April, 2011, 11th April, 2011 and 14th April, 2011 in West Bengal, shall be given and recorded by means of Electronic Voting Machines in the manner prescribed under the Conduct of Elections Rules, 1961, and the supplementary instructions issued by the Commission from time to time on the subject.

(By Order)

K.F. WILFRED, Secretary, Election Commission of India.

PRAVEEN KUMAR, Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 24th March, 2011.