[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2009-11.

[R.Dis. No. 197/2009 [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 86]

CHENNAI, THURSDAY, MARCH 25, 2010 Panguni 11, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2041

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India.

NOTIFICATION BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

ELECTION COMMISSION'S NOTIFICATION REGARDING EXIT POLL AT THE BYE-ELECTION TO THE TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FROM 83. PENNAGARAM ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCY.

No. SRO G-6/2010.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 25th March, 2010 is published in supersession of the Notification published in the *Tamil Nadu Government Gazette* Extraordinary (Issue No. 85), dated 24th March 2010:—

No. 485/Exit Poll/MCPS/2010.—In pursuance of sub-section (2) of Section 126A of the Representation of People Act, 1951, the Election Commission of India hereby notifies the hours between 8-00 a.m. and 5-30 p.m. of 27th March, 2010, as the period during which no person shall conduct any Exit Poll and publish or publicize by means of print or electronic media or disseminate in any other manner, whatsoever, the result of any Exit Poll conducted in respect of bye-election to Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly from 83. Pennagaram Assembly Constituency.

This will be in supersession of the Commission's Order No. 509/121/2004/J.S.I, dated 17th February 2009 and any other order issued in this behalf.

Any person, who contravenes the provision of this Section, shall be punishable with imprisonment for a term which may extend to 2 years or with fine or with both.

(By Order)

TAPAS KUMAR, Principal Secretary, Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 25th March 2010.

NARESH GUPTA,

Chief Electoral Officer and Additional Chief Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.