©
GOVERNMENT OF TAMIL NADU
2010

[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2009-11.

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



# TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

**EXTRAORDINARY** 

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 215]

CHENNAI, MONDAY, JULY 19, 2010 Aadi 3, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2041

## Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India.

#### NOTIFICATION BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA.

DISQUALIFICATION OF A CANDIDATE CONTESTED FROM 12. ARANI PARLIAMENTARY CONSTITUENCY IN THE GENERAL ELECTIONS TO LOK SABHA HELD IN MAY, 2009 FOR FAILURE TO LODGE ACCOUNTS OF ELECTION EXPENSES UNDER SECTION 10A OF THE REPRESENTATION OF THE PEOPLE ACT, 1951.

#### No. SRO G-12/2010.

The following order of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 7th July, 2009 [16 Asadha, 1932 (Saka)] is republished:—

**No. 76/TN-HP/2009.**—Whereas the Election Commission of India is satisfied that the Contesting Candidate specified in column 4 of the Table below at the General Elections to Lok Sabha, 2009 from the State of Tamil Nadu specified in column 2 and held from the Constituency specified in column 3 against his name has failed to lodge the account of his election expenses as shown in column 5 of the said Table, as required by the Representation of the People Act, 1951 and the Rules made thereunder:

And, whereas, the said candidate has either not furnished any reason or explanation for the said failure even after due notice by the Election Commission or after considering the representation made by him, if any, the Election Commission is satisfied that he has no good reason or justification for the said failure;

Now, therefore, in pursuance of Section 10A if the said Act, the Election Commission hereby declares the person specified in column 4 of the Table below to be disqualified for being chosen as and for being a member of either House of Parliament or the Legislative Assembly or Legislative Council of a State or Union Territory for a period of three years from the date of this Order:—

**T**ABLE

SI.

No.

(1)

Particulars of

Election.

(2)

Name and Address of	Reasons for
Contesting Candidate.	Disqualification.
(4)	(5)

General Elections 12. Arani Shri Shankar, A., to Lok Sabha, No. 28/12, Shanmu 2009. Kizhperumbakkam,

SI. No. and Name of

Parliamentary Constituency.

(3)

Shri Shankar, A.,

No. 28/12, Shanmuga Perumal Street,
Kizhperumbakkam,
Villupuram Taluk and District.

Accounts not lodged in manner as required by the law.

(By Order)

TAPAS KUMAR, Principal Secretary, Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, Dated 19th July, 2010.

### NARESH GUPTA,

Chief Electoral Officer and Additional Chief Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.