[Regd. No. TN/CCN/117/2006-08

[Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 369]

CHENNAI, MONDAY, DECEMBER 15, 2008 Karthigai 30, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2039

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India

NOTIFICATIONS BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA.

APPOINTMENT OF DATES FOR VARIOUS STAGES OF BYE-ELECTION TO TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FROM 137. THIRUMANGALAM ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCY AND FIXATION OF HOURS OF POLL TO FILL A VACANCY CAUSED BY THE DEATH OF A MEMBER.

No. SRO G-24/2008.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 15th December, 2008 [24 Agrahayana, 1930 (Saka)], is published:—

No. 100/TN-LA/1/2008:—Whereas, the seat of Shri Veera Elavarasan, in the Legislative Assembly of the Tamil Nadu State elected from 137. Thirumangalam Assembly Constituency has become vacant on 08-11-2008, by reason of his death, and

- 2. Whereas, a bye-election is to be held for the purpose of filling the vacancy so caused;
- 3. Now, therefore, in pursuance of sub-section (1) of Sections 150, 30 and 56 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951), the Election Commission of India hereby—
- (A) Calls upon the said 137. Thirumangalam Assembly Constituency in the State of Tamil Nadu to elect, before the 15-01-2009 (Thursday) and in accordance with the provisions of the said Act and of the Rules and Orders made thereunder, a person, for the purpose of filling the said vacancy in the Legislative Assembly of the State; and
 - (B) Appoints, with respect to the said election:-
 - (a) the 22-12-2008, (Monday) as the last date for making nominations;
 - (b) the 23-12-2008, (Tuesday) as the date for the scrutiny of nominations;
 - (c) the 26-12-2008, (Friday) as the last date for the withdrawal of candidatures;
 - (d) the 09-01-2009, (Friday) as the date on which a poll shall, if necessary, be taken;
 - (e) the 15-01-2009, (Thursday) as the date before which the election shall be completed, and
 - (C) Fixes the hours from 7.00 A.M. to 5.00 P.M. as the hours during which the poll shall, if necessary, be taken on the date specified above for the election.

(By Order)

Tapas Kumar, Principal Secretary, Election Commission of India.

NARESH GUPTA.

Chief Electoral Officer and Additional Chief Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 15th December, 2008.