[Regd. No. TN/CCN/117/2006-08. [Price: Rs. 1.60 Paise.



# TAMIL NADU **GOVERNMENT GAZETTE**

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 363]

CHENNAI, TUESDAY, DECEMBER 2, 2008 Karthigai 17, Thiruvalluvar Aandu-2039

### Part II—Section 2

Notifications or Orders of interest to a section of the public issued by Secretariat Departments.

#### NOTIFICATIONS BY GOVERNMENT

#### MUNICIPAL ADMINISTRATION AND WATER SUPPLY DEPARTMENT

NORMS FOR CLASSIFICATION OF MUNICIPALITIES UNDER TAMIL NADU DISTRICT MUNICIPALITIES ACT.

[G.O. Ms. No. 238, Municipal Administration and Water Supply (Election), 2nd December 2008.]

#### No. II(2)/MAWS/560(c)/2008.

In exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (6) of Section 4 of the Tamil Nadu District Municipalities Act, 1920 (Tamil Nadu Act V of 1920), read with rule 3 of the Tamil Nadu Municipalities (Norms for Classification of Municipalities) Rules, 2008, the Governor of Tamil Nadu hereby classifies the Municipalities as indicated in column (2) of the Table below into the Grade specified in the corresponding entries in column (1) thereof :-

THE TABLE

Grade (1)

I. Special Grade Municipalities

Municipalities

(2)

- Alandur (1)
- Ambattur (2)
- Avadi (3)
- Cuddalore (4)
- Dindigul (5)
- Kancheepuram

(6) (7) Karur (8) Kovilpatti Kodaikanal (10) Kumbakonam

#### THE TABLE—Cont.

Grade
(1)

I. Special Grade Municipalities—Cont.

II. Selection Grade Municipalities

## Municipalities (2)

- (11) Madhavaram
- (12) Nagercoil
- (13) Pallavaram
- (14) Pollachi
- (15) Rajapalayam
- (16) Tambaram
- (17) Thanjavur
- (18) Tiruvannamalai
- (19) Tiruvottiyur
- (20) Udhagamandalam
- (1) Ambur
- (2) Attur
- (3) Chidambaram
- (4) Coonoor
- (5) Dharmapuri
- (6) Gobichettipalayam
- (7) Hosur
- (8) Kathivakkam
- (9) Karaikudi
- (10) Mannargudi
- (11) Mayiladuthurai
- (12) Mettupalayam
- (13) Mettur
- (14) Nagapattinam
- (15) Namakkal
- (16) Palani
- (17) Pattukottai
- (18) Pudukottai
- (19) Ranipet
- (20) Sivakasi
- (21) Theni-Allinagaram
- (22) Thuraiyur
- (23) Tindivanam
- (24) Tiruchengode
- (25) Tiruppathur
- (26) Vaniyambadi
- (27) Udumalpet
- (28) Villupuram
- (29) Virudhunagar

#### THE TABLE—Cont.

Grade (1)

III. First Grade Municipalities

Municipalities (2)

- (1) Arakkonam
- (2) Arani
- (3) Aranthangi
- (4) Arcot
- (5) Aruppukkotai
- (6) Bodinayakkanur
- (7) Chengalpattu
- (8) Colachel
- (9) Cumbum
- (10) Devakottai
- (11) Dharapuram
- (12) Gudiyatham
- (13) Idappadi
- (14) Kadayanallur
- (15) Komarapalayam
- (16) Krishnagiri
- (17) Manapparai
- (18) Panruti
- (19) Paramakudi
- (20) Ramanathapuram
- (21) Rasipuram
- (22) Sankarankoil
- (23) Sathyamangalam
- (24) Sivagangai
- (25) Srivilliputhur
- (26) Tenkasi
- (27) Tiruvallur
- (28) Tiruvarur
- (29) Virudhachalam
- (1) Bhavani
- (2) Chinnamanur
- (3) Koothanallur
- (4) Kulithalai
- (5) Kuzhithurai
- (6) Maduranthagam
- (7) Melur
- (8) Nellikuppam
- (9) Padmanabhapuram

IV. Second Grade Municipalities

THE TABLE—Cont.

Grade (1) Municipalities (2)

- IV. Second Grade Municipalities—Cont.
- (10) Perambalur
- (11) Periyakulam
- (12) Puliangudi
- (13) Sattur
- (14) Sengottai
- (15) Sirkali
- (16) Tirumangalam
- (17) Thiruthuraipoondi
- (18) Tiruvathipuram
- (19) Usilampatti
- (20) Vandavasi
- (21) Walajapet

NIRANJAN MARDI, Secretary to Government.